Booking Through Thursday – Mood Reading

Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

Do you find that your mood affects the things you read? Like, if you’re in a bad mood, do you tend to indulge in reading that will support it or do you try to read things that will cheer you up? Do you pick different types of books on dreary, rainy days than you do on bright sunny ones?

For that matter, does your mood color what you’re reading, so that a funny book isn’t so funny or a serious one not so deep?

I’ve never really noticed if mood affects my reading, as I tend to have several books on the go at once and will just pick up whichever one I feel like reading, which tends to be the one I’m enjoying most at any given time. I’m possibly more inclined to read thicker books in the winter, as I like to curl up on the sofa with them; and perhaps lighter-weight paperbacks in the summer, as I read more outdoors, but even so, I carry a paperback in my bag anyway and read my hardbacks at home. The multiple-books tactic also means I can have completely different books on the go at once. I may have an historical fiction, a supernatural thriller, a crime drama and a humorous book dotted around my home, all partially read. I’m not conscious of seeking out one over the others depending on my mood, but perhaps I do on a subconscious level…

9 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Mood Reading

  1. See, I can only focus on one book at a time but have always wanted to be able to read more than one. So more power to you!

    Here’s my BTT: http://palmtreesbarefeet.wordpress.com/2011/12/01/booking-through-thursday-mood-reading/

    🙂

  2. Interesting! I do tend to take smaller books (or my Kindle) in my bag when I’m on the go…and the thickest ones I read at home, usually at night.

    Here’s MY BTT POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  3. I do the same! I have several books that are partially read and carry a book with me wherever I go, unfortunately, most of the time that seems to be hardback…and most of the time I wish I had brought the other one. D:
    :3

  4. I used to read multiple books at once, it was nice to switch up books every once in awhile without ditching one. I also always have a book on me too (although I carry around both paperback and hardbacks)

    here’s my answer http://eatupmyfreetime.wordpress.com/2011/12/01/mood-reading/

  5. That’s really interesting about the long books in winter/short books in summer.

  6. I def think that we all do it Subconsciously that’s for sure. Thanks for stopping by!

  7. I like how you have a multitude of genres at hand–at any given time! I may have to follow in your footsteps, for sometimes I find that my “currently reading” selection fails to amuse me when I’m in a “mood”.
    though I don’t think, either, that mood affects my reading too much!

    Great answer & thanks for stopping by!

  8. Hello! Thanks for visiting my blog!

    I tend to read just one book at a time. When I’m at work I can’t read. So, going one book is tough enough when 12 hours of the 18 waking hours is spent cooped up in an office or travelling! 😉