Tuesday Tunes – Manly Music

Tuesday Tunes is a music meme hosted by Dale at Smurfin’ the Web.

To take part, answer the question and post a link in the comments at his blog HERE.

Many Tunes
Songs that have men’s names in the title.

I’ll kick off with the fun Call Me Al by Paul Simon. Featuring Chevy Chase in the video was a stroke of genius. I don’t usually like Mr Chase, but he was perfect for lip synching in this video, which I bet was a hoot to make!

Second in my list is another fun one with Thunderbirds-style puppets of the band performing (and some Thunderbirds action too!). The video for Calling Elvis by Dire Straits is a blend of live action and puppet animation…

Next we move onto the smooth sound of Hot Chocolate and their track Brother Louie. It tells the sad tale of a mixed race couple whose families are dead set against them being together…

Finally, I’ll leave you with Major Tom – originally recorded by Peter Schilling in 1983, I prefer th ecover version by Shiny Toy Guns. It’s the other side of the story given in David Bowie’s Space Oddity. Here are Shiny Toy Guns performing it live…

 

2 responses to “Tuesday Tunes – Manly Music

  1. Excellent choices hun =)

  2. OMG!! Call Me Al used to be one of my favorite songs, but I never saw the video – that’s hilarious!! I forgot just how much fun the song was to listen to – it’s impossible not to chair-dance while it’s playing! ;o)