Musing Mondays

Hosted by Should Be Reading

Will you be buying books for the holidays, this year?
If so, for whom, and why?

I buy books as gifts for pretty much everyone every year for Christmas! Seriously – why would I not? For those who already love reading, I choose books I know they will love. For those who don’t read regularly, I try to choose books that will excite them and if the book I give them is the only book they read that ear, then I still feel I’ve done a good job.

Obviously, because it’s not yet Christmas, I won’t mention which books I’ve chosen or who they are for, because I don’t want to spoil the surprise. Even our son, Xander, who is only three years old, loves books, so he’s included in my festive book frenzy!

7 responses to “Musing Mondays

  1. I think it’s a great idea to give books as gifts. I personally do the same. 🙂
    Here’s my MM post: http://booksbiscuitsandtea.blogspot.com/2011/11/musing-mondays-8-buying-books-for.html

  2. I do the same because I pretty much have an idea the type of books my friends like to read and when you know their taste in books, it kind of makes it easier on the you to shop for them.

  3. Great question and even better answer! It’s tough buying books for people sometimes, the only person I have figured out so far is my daughter. But she is two, so that’s an easy one I guess. 🙂

    Here’s mine:

    http://amylunderman.blogspot.com/2011/11/musing-mondays-and-getting-back-into.html

  4. I like to give books, but they are hard. what will they like..and have they already read it?

  5. I am so excited to give books this year! Many people on my list will be receiving The Book Thief (my favourite read of 2011 so far) and my mom will receive a few others for her new Kindle. Books are also my favourite kind of gift to receive as it takes a lot of thought to go to a bookstore and pick out a book you think someone will love.

  6. Gotta agree with caite above! I can only be sure about my hubby and daughter. So I guess my family is kind of lucky, since nowadays only kids get presents..

    Monaliz @ Mind Reading?

  7. I just love picking out books for people!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂