Booking Through Thursday – Thankful

Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

What book or author are you most thankful to have discovered?
Have you read everything they’ve written? Reread them?
Why do you appreciate them so much?

For me, the honour goes to Sir Terry Pratchett. I discovered his work quite by accident in the summer of 1992 whilst on holiday in the Lake District. I picked up a copy of The Carpet People from one of the shops and started reading. Several hours later, the book was finished and I couldn’t believe how the time had flown! Very soon, I got hold of his entire back catalogue of Discworld novels (which back then ran up to and including Lords and Ladies) and then continued with the rest of them as they were published. I also read The Bromeliad (the trilogy about Nomes aimed at younger readers), and his more sci-fi efforts (Strata and Dark Side of the Sun), and Good Omens, which he wrote with Neil Gaiman – another discovery off the back of Pratchett! I’ve also read his more recent non-Discworld novel, Nation.

I’ve read all these books multiple times, and they never fail to transport me to another time and place, immerse me completely in another culture, and see things from the funny side of life. His wit and humour have rescued me from many a dark moment and for that I am eternally grateful.

I still have the Johnny Maxwell books to read, but as I have a small son, I imagine it won’t be too much longer before that’s remedied and we’ll read them together…

4 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Thankful

  1. I love Terry Pratchett’s books too! I didn’t get hooked until after watching The Hogfather though.

    My BTT is here if you’d like a look 🙂

  2. Great answer! Isn’t it great when you find a book or author that has to power to make you forget every day life! 🙂

    Here’s my BTT: http://palmtreesbarefeet.wordpress.com/2011/11/24/booking-through-thursday-thankful/

  3. I haven’t read Sir Terry Pratchett, but I’ve seen his books around the blogs. I think it’s wonderful to accidentally discover a book and author we love…truly a treasure!

    Here’s MY BTT POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  4. Love his books. My partner got me into his work via talking about the strange book he was reading and me getting annoyed… I hadn’t read the book so his ramblings made no sense, lol. I read the book just so he’d hush – yeah for me because I loved the book 🙂

    Here’s my Booking Through Thursday ~ House Millar series

    Áine