Teaser Tuesday – Fire Study by Maria V Snyder

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

Cold and uncomfortable, I tossed and turned, trying to sleep. Disturbing dreams of fire and death invaded my mind. Flames would spark in a benevolent dream, here and there until they multiplied and consumed the picturesque scene, burning the images into a storm of black ash. I woke coughing on imaginary smoke, my body coated with sweat.

– page 134, Fire Study (Study 3) by Maria V Snyder

Synopsis:
The apprenticeship is over– now the real test has begun.

When word that Yelena is a Soulfinder–able to capture and release souls–spreads like wildfire, people grow uneasy. Already Yelena’s unusual abilities and past have set her apart. As the Council debates Yelena’s fate, she receives a disturbing message: a plot is rising against her homeland, led by a murderous sorcerer she has defeated before.…

Honor sets Yelena on a path that will test the limits of her skills, and the hope of reuniting with her beloved spurs her onward. Her journey is fraught with allies, enemies, lovers and would-be assassins, each of questionable loyalty. Yelena will have but one chance to prove herself–and save the land she holds dear.

What I think of it so far:
I’m not enjoying this one quite as much as the previous installments, but there’s not much in it really. I think this one just isn’t making as much of an impact because I’ve grown used to the characters, their situation and the writing style. However, there’s still plenty action, adventure and magic in this novel and it’s a pretty good read so far. I’m just past the half-way mark and hope the rest of it continues as well!

40 responses to “Teaser Tuesday – Fire Study by Maria V Snyder

  1. OHOHOHOHOHOH I’ve been wanting to read this for so long after I read Snyder’s TOUCH OF POWER! ToP was really cool, so I wanted to try out her Study series, but hadn’t had the time yet..:( But, I love the description in the teaser. Very vivid, and expressive. Great pick!

  2. Shanese La'Tia

    This series is on my list. I have the books but haven’t gotten around to read them. Nice pick.

  3. wow, sounds really exiting!

  4. I love this teaser, this is a book I should put on my TBR list!

  5. This is a new author and series to me and it sounds brilliant. Thanks for a great teaser.

  6. oh my.. first time I heard about this book. I like Here’s mine

    P/S I’m following you =3

  7. Great teaser. I’ve got Poison Study on my tbr pile. Thanks for stopping by.

  8. Great teaser and thanks for coming by and visiting mine.

  9. Nice teaser! I’ve been wanting to read Poison Study for AGES!

  10. Kinda sounds like my nights! Great teaser. Here is my teaser

  11. The dreams are frightening…but I suspect the real life is, too.

    Here’s
    MY TT POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  12. I’ve been wanting to read this series! Love that teaser.

    Thanks for stopping by mine!

  13. Hi Kell,
    This probably isn’t one to be added to my TBR pile, as I am not a massive fan of fantasy, and I am notoriously bad at reading a series of books in any kind of order.

    Having said that your teaser lines are great. Maria’s writing seems very descriptive and all-encompassing. For a dream, this one sounds pretty horrendous and not one that I would ever want to experience.

    Thanks for stopping by Fiction Books, I appreciate it.

  14. Awesome teaser! This book/series has been highly recommended to me. Thanks for sharing and for stopping by The Bookish Babes!

  15. I loved this book. I hope you enjoy it.

  16. Wonderful imagery!

  17. I’ve actually never heard about this series, but now it definitely goes to my to- read- list! Thanks for sharing, and thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  18. Thank you for stopping by.. have not heard of the series but sounds interesting from both the teaser and the synopsis…

  19. I love the Study Series! Great teaser! Hope you end up enjoying this last book just as much as the others.

    Thanks for stopping by my TT 🙂

  20. That is a very vivid description! Awesome Teaser! I haven’t had the chance to read this series yet, but it looks pretty good. Thanks for sharing and for stopping by my Teaser!

  21. Sounds ominous, dreams area a great way to foreshadow …

    Thanks also for posting on Read@UTS!

  22. That’s a terrible dream! I hate when I’m uncomfortable and can’t sleep!

    Thanks for stopping by!

  23. Interesting! I want to read this series quite badly! I even have book one waiting on my shelf. Definitely need to pick it up soon! Thanks for stopping by!

  24. Hello! Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Sounds familiar! I have had those nights too.

  25. That’s one seriously intense teaser. Definitely a book I have to read. Thanks for sharing.

  26. Ooooh, intense teaser. This looks interesting! I will watch out for this book. 🙂

    Thanks for dropping by at my teaser! 🙂

  27. Excellent teaser!
    Very dark and intense. I likey 😉

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  28. I haven’t read this series, although I’ve read some of her earlier books. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  29. I definitely want to read this series, but I haven’t gotten to buying them yet.

  30. Oooooo this is a GREAT teaser. I might actually add this to my TBR!

  31. Great teaser! Will definitely be looking more into this one, hope you are enjoying it. [:
    THanks for stopping by my TT!

    Erin @ Let’s Evaluate

  32. Great teaser! Thanks for stopping by.

  33. I loved the Study books!! Great teaser.

  34. I love the sound of it – soulfinders seem to resonate with me. I keep souls too – but they find me. 🙂 how’s that for a teaser? Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment on my teaser as well. 🙂

  35. I like this series 😀 Much better IMHO than her Power books….glad you are enjoying it! Yes, this one isn’t nearly as good as the first book.
    Dee from e-Volving Books