Kid-speak Sunday

Being a Mum is the best job in the world and sometimes there’s the added bonus of hearing your kids come out with an absolute gem…

We’re always hearing about how demanding kids are for the latest toy or gadget they’ve seen advertised (we cheat and get around it by making sure the only TV channel Xander ever sees is CBeebies as it has no adverts!), but more often than not, all they really want is to spend time with us, and often doing an activity that costs very little, if not nothing at all.

Take last week, for example. Xander and I had an impromptu day of culture when he decided that he wanted to go to the library to pick out some new books for us to read together. Usually we would hop on the bus there and back, but this time, Xander decided he wanted to walk into town. So we did.

Then we got to the library and had a lovely time choosing a batch of books. Then it was time to go, but Xan wasn’t ready to go home just yet. Instead he said,

“I want to go to the art gallery. I really like the art gallery!”

We’d been a couple of times before and he’d enjoyed it, but I hadn’t realised how much he’d enjoyed it. Entry to the gallery is free too. (The photo I’ve used today shows Xander gazing with glee at one of his favourite exhibits – I guess art is in the eye of the beholder, because I just don’t “get” this particular piece.) Then he fancied a stroll through the graveyard across the road (just like me, he has a great love of graveyards!). And then he decided he wanted to walk home, rather than get the bus.

He was absolutely shattered when we got home, but we’d had a lovely day and it hadn’t cost us a single penny.

Sometimes it takes a child to remind us the best things in life really are free!

What did your kid say lately?

2 responses to “Kid-speak Sunday

  1. My daughter: “You and Mommy vote every year, right?”
    Me: “Yes”
    My daughter: “Then how come you’ve never won anything?”