Booking Through Thursday – Category

Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

Of the books you own, what’s the biggest category/genre?
Is this also the category that you actually read the most?

This is a bit of a funny one, really. I only keep a certain amount of my books due to limits on space. The largest section of my permanent collection is filled with Terry Pratchett’s Discworld novels – all 39 of them – plus additional books by Mr Pratchett. However, I don’t read them most often. I have read each of them multiple times, but fantasy isn’t my most often-read category…

Another very large section is given over to young adult/children’s books. I have all the Harry Potter books (J K Rowling), most of the Artemis Fowl series (Eoin Colfer), and all of The Edge Chronicles (Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell), but again, although I’ve read all of them at least once, and they all belong firmly in the fantasy genre, fantasy is not the genre that most often finds its way onto Mount To-Be-Read.

I would say my reading preference definitely gets pretty much equally divided between historical fiction, urban fantasy/paranormal fiction and crime fiction. Representing the past on my shelves are all of Simon Scarrow’s books (both his Roman and Revolution series) and Philippa Gregory (I adore her Tudor novels and the Cousins’ War series), but those are the only ones I keep. Other books tend to be paperbacks which get donated to a library when I’m finished with them. I also adore Kelley Armstrong’s Women of the Otherworld series, so she heads up my paranormal collection, but I’ll try almost anything that features vampires, werewolves and other creatures of that ilk.

Finally, there’s crime fiction. Stuart Macbride (Logan McRae series) and Christopher Brookmyre (various novels involving crimes set) both have a pitch-black sense of humour which appeals to me, so they’re definitely worth mentioning as favourites who have a section all of their own on my bookcase. And of course, there are the books by Richard Castle  (tying in with the TV show, Castle) of which there are only three (so far) but will be expanded upon as more are published…

I will read just about anything apart from Mills and Boon style romances, and only a very little chick-lit, but those are the Big Three for me.

8 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Category

  1. You have all of Pratchett’s books??? I’m jealous. I only started reading fantasy last year so I’m gradually collecting them. Your shelves sound a lot like mine though.

    My BTT post is here if you’d like a look 🙂

    • Yup, I discovered Pratchett in the summer of 1992 (when I picked up a copy of The Carpet People whilst on a family holiday in the Lake District). I quickly got hold of the Discworld novels that had been published to that point and then collected the rest of them as they were published. I always look forward to a new one being released. 🙂

      I will say, however, the first two are not the best in the series by a long shot and if I’d read those first, I might not have continued with the series (my first Discworld novel was actually Reaper Man which is excellent!). I also don’t rate Eric as one of the better ones, but other than those they steadily get better and better. My favourite Discworld novel to date has been Night Watch, which is nothing short of brilliant! 🙂

  2. Yes, my book shelf is definitely filled with Harry Potter as well. 🙂

    Here’s my BTT: http://palmtreesbarefeet.wordpress.com/2011/11/17/booking-through-thursday-category/

  3. I know that I am expanding my book love (and ownership) since I’ve been book blogging. But you can find my categories here at MY THURSDAY MEMES POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  4. I have crime fiction everywhere!!

    Here is my BTT: category post!

  5. Interesting collection. I don’t like Philippa Gregory but apart from that, I like reading historical fiction, too 🙂

  6. Hello! Thanks for the visit to my blog!

    I don’t read any Mills and Boon style romance or much chick-lit either. Fantasy is not my favourite genre but I do have the entire Harry Potter collection (well, I guess most people in the world does!).