WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesdays are hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading.To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What are you currently reading?
Erin Morgenstern – The Night Circus
I’m only a few chapters into this and it’s all very intriguing. There’s been a small smattering of magic and a little mystery, and I’m looking forward to delving deeper into this unusual story.

Maria V Snyder – Fire Study (Study 3)
The third and final book in the Study fantasy trilogy about Yelena Zaltana. I’ve enjoyed the other two, s oI hope this will be a fitting and enjoyable conclusion to the series.

What did you recently finish reading?
Sarah Singleton – Century Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
A young adult novel that is very cryptic and the mystery is rather compelling –   I felt like I was being slowly reeled in like a fish and at some point I would realise I couldn’t escape the pull. It was an enjoyable read but there was something about it that left me feeling there was something missing – some explanation as to the origins of the family’s secret. It is, however, beautifully written – Singleton is an author I will be trying again at some point in the future.

Julia Golding – Cat’s Cradle (Cat Royal 6) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
This series of young adult novels has touched on some serious subjects, from slavery to revolution to piracy and fighting for a cause, but this one didn’t really have a “big” theme – just the more personal one of finding one’s family. That said, it was still a warming and endearing story and an enjoyable read, and I look forward to completing the series with the novella which is only available as an e-book.

Chris Riddell – Ottoline and the Yellow Cat (Ottoline 1) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
I adore Chris Riddell’s illustrations, but before now I had only ever seen his work when accompanied by the words of another (Paul Stewart in The Edge Chronicles and Neil Gaiman in The Graveyard Book). This first experience of his own story with his gorgeous drawings is something of a revelation! I love the quirkiness of the characters and plot – Riddell has style and flair which, when coupled with those fantastic pen-and-ink renderings, is a winning combination.

Chris Riddell – Ottoline Goes to School (Ottoline 2) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
The second Ottoline adventure is just as wonderful as the first. Such a sensible little girl in an unusual situation (absent parents who travel the world while she stays home with Mr Munroe, a small, hairy fellow from the bogs of Norway) trying to find some kind of normality but remaining extraordinary. This series has enough charm to appeal to readers of all ages!

What do you think you’ll read next?
Picked up from the library:

8 responses to “WWW Wednesday

  1. I loved the Wicked Lovely! The second book wasn’t as good, though, I’m still planning to read the third book some day 🙂

  2. I have The Night Circus in my tbr pile, have seen some positive reviews. Hoping you enjoy it.

  3. I haven’t read any of yours, either, but I’ll be adding some of these to my TBR pile.

  4. I’ve heard great things about a lot of these books. I’ve only personally read Maria Snyder’s book. I love Snyder’s writing style. Excellent picks as always.

    Once again, thanks for always stopping by my blog. I view your blog so much that I’ve decided I might as well just follow it! 🙂

  5. Night Circus is one that has intrigued me. It’s on my wish list. Maybe I’ll get it for Christmas.

    Lee
    Best selling author Lani Diane Rich visits
    Tossing It Out
    Wednesday November 16th.

  6. I hope you’re enjoying The Night Circus! It really does look awesome!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today 🙂

  7. I loved Synder’s series, although I liked Poison Study the best of the three. Such a great series!

    I’m drooling over The Night Circus, but I haven’t been able to get a copy yet. Soon, though.

    Here’s my WWW for the week. Happy reading!

  8. Fire Study is sooooo good! I loved it! And Wicked Lovely is awesome, and The Devil’s Kiss is awesome, too! A bit sad, but still really great! Hope you can read them soon! Happy reading!