Top Ten… Unread Books on Kell’s Bookshelf

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created and hosted at Broke and Bookish.

The Top Ten unread books on my bookshelf are:

  1. The Last Templar by Raymond Khoury
  2. The Last Legion by Valerio Massimo Manfredi
  3. The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
  4. The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas
  5. The Golden Notebook by Doris Lessing
  6. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo
  7. The Crimson Petal and the White by Michele Faber
  8. Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel
  9. Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters by Jane Austen and Ben Winters
  10. The Pirate’s Daughter by Margaret Cezair-Thompson

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

60 responses to “Top Ten… Unread Books on Kell’s Bookshelf

  1. I would love to read Sense and Sensibility and the Sea Monster. It sounds fun.

    Here’s My Post

  2. Crimson Petal & Wolf Hall are on my TBR shelf. I’m hoping to get them read in the New Year. Count of Monte Cristo is good, just very very long. It took me about 6 weeks to get through it. It’s a good story, though. It kind of reminded me of the movie Ocean’s Eleven.

  3. The Crimson Petal looks great! Just added it to my own TBR pile. Someday that will get shorter rather than longer.

  4. The Poisonwood Bible and The Pirate’s Daughter have both been recommended to me in the past, but I’ve not read any of these either :-/

  5. I had to read Les Miserables for French class in grade 8, and we also had to act out scenes. It’s a good book but not when you’re forced to read it. I haven’t read the other books, but they look interesting.

  6. I’ve always wanted to read The Count of Monte Cristo, but just haven’t had a chance.

  7. The Poisonwood Bible and The Count of Monte Cristo are such great books!
    I haven’t heard of some of the rest, but The Last Legion and The Last Templar sound really interesting

  8. I really want to buy the Poisonwood Bible. I hear it’s a wonderful book. I just know given my hectic reading schedule that, like with you, it would sit on my shelves for quite awhile.

    And my friend swears by Crimson Petal and the White. I have that on my TBR shelf as well, only it’s not quite as old as some of the others I’ve had waiting.

    Wonderful list, I hope you get to read a few of them soon!

  9. I really liked The Count of Monte Cristo, long but well worth it!

  10. I wish my pile was really only one book. Then I could go on a book spree and add to the pile. No, I was going more for the poor books that are literally sitting on my shelf and always get passed up for more enticing reads. Thank you for stopping by my blog. Good luck with your pile.

  11. I’ve heard of some of these titles, but I’ve yet to read ANY of them! lol Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters has been on my TBR list, but it goes in the same vein as Little Women and Werewolves on my list today. Great list today! πŸ™‚ Thank you for visiting!

  12. Les Mis wasn’t on my list, but it’s definitely a book that I’ve had on my shelf that I haven’t finished yet! It just seems quite intimidating, haha πŸ˜‰

  13. Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters sounds interesting! Thanks for stopping by!

  14. I couldn’t get into the Poisonwood Bible. But I really want to read the Count of Monte Cristo. I’ve heard it is awesome.

  15. Of those 10 I’ve only read numbers 1 & 4, and when I was still a teen I started #6, but I don’t remember finishing it…(I think I might have gotten bored with it, I was probably a bit young for it).

  16. I have a few of your picks on my adult fiction TBR pile. I would like to read more Barbara Kingsolver- I really enjoyed her non-fiction work, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle. The Crimson Petal and the White is another one I would like to get to at some point. Not enough hours in the day!
    Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my list πŸ™‚

  17. Oh, The Count of Monte Cristo! I want to read this one eventually as well!

  18. You must, must read The Crimson Petal and the White! I cannot say enough good things about it. BEST NOVEL EVER!!

  19. Hmm, I’ve heard The Count of Monte Cristo is fabulous, but I’ve never read it either πŸ˜‰

  20. Wolf Hall has recently been added to my TBR too! I hear it’s good. πŸ™‚

  21. I worked my way through the unabridged Les Miserables a few years ago. It was a slog at times but well worth it. I haven’t read any Austen mash-ups yet but I probably should.

  22. I LOVED the Count of Monte Cristo! I should put this on my re read πŸ™‚
    Thanks for stoppin by πŸ™‚
    BOOKS & BEYOND

  23. I’ve heard only good things about The Poisonwood Bible … that’s another one that’s on my shelf. One day, one day … πŸ™‚

  24. That’s a hefty list! I really liked The Poisonwood Bible, but I think my favorite Barbara Kingsolver book is Animal Dreams.

  25. Oh, I totally need to read The Count of Monte Cristo and Les Miserables. There are still so many classics I’ve yet to crack open. Great list! And, thanks for visiting my blog earlier today.

  26. I wish I could tell you I’d read some of these and that you should get onto them right away but alas, most are on my TBR list too!

  27. I also need to read Les Mis and I’ve heard incredible things about The Count of Monte Cristo.

    Two more books that I need to read. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  28. i tried reading the count of monte cristo ages ago but never finished. maybe i should try again.

  29. The Count of Monte Cristo and Les Miserables are both seriously intimidating, but I’m glad I read both. Well, mostly. There was a loooong section on poisons in The Count, and a probably longer one on sewers in Les Mis. πŸ™‚

  30. Thanks for stopping by. I’ve actually read Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monster. Sadly, it made me question my faith in mankind. P&P&Z was amusing. This was just off-the-wall and confusing. I know of several others who have enjoyed it, though, so I hope you are among that number. Great list. πŸ™‚

  31. I’ve been meaning to read Les Miserables for a while too!

    Thanks for stopping by and happy reading =)
    Rachel @ The Rest Is Still Unwritten

  32. The only one of these I’ve read is The Count of Monte Cristo which I loved. Great list!

  33. The Count of Monte Cristo is awesome! It’s on my list for a reread (part of a challenge). I’m afraid I couldn’t do the Sense & Sensibility and Sea Monsters…I’m not in to those mash-ups with the classics. But hope you enjoy once you get around to it!

    Thanks for stopping by.

  34. Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters sounds pretty funny. I can’t believe you haven’t read it yet. Hope you enjoy your books when you get around to them!

  35. My sister-in-law just bought The Count of Monte Cristo for me. I’m looking forward to reading it!

  36. I’m sort of reading Les Miserables right now but I’m less then 100 pages in and I like it so far but I’m not sure what the plot is yet. Also thank you for commenting on my blog.

  37. I enjoyed Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters, though it’s not as good as Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.

  38. I love Les Mis and I’ve been wanting to read Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters! (:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! (:

  39. wow! good list. count of monte cristo should be on mine too. i read crimson petal and the white this year and seem to be one of the few who werent impressed!

  40. The Crimson Petal and the White and Les Mis could have easily made my list, too. I want to read both, but their page counts are daunting!

  41. I mean to read the “zombie” crossovers with classics.. but I haven’t read the original classic book so not sure how much I’d “get” the reinvention ones…

    Thanks for stopping by!

    Michele | Top 10 Tues

  42. The Poisonwood Bible was a DNF for me. Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚

  43. I thought the Poisonwood Bible was wonderful. It was a book choice for a bookclub I was in years ago.

  44. Lots of classics and some kind of classics, ahah. I haven’t read any of them either!

  45. I read The Poisonwood Bible and The Count of Monte Cristo in high school; they’re both amazing!

  46. The Count of Monte Cristo and Les Miserables are both something, I’ve wanted to read for years. But apparently I have a problem with classics, and I never even start them. Traumatized by school, I guess! πŸ™‚

  47. Thanks for stopping by my blog! My husband has read The Last Templar and really enjoyed it. Hope you get to read these soon!

  48. You have some great books on the list! Enjoy!

  49. I’ve read Les Mis and Wolf Hall, both of which I would highly recommend.

  50. I fear Wolf Hall will be on my shelf for quite some time, it just looks so massive and I can just tell it’s not going to be easy going.

    • I’ve assured that once you crack it open you’ll not be able to put it down and that it flies past. However, like you, I have found it’s sheer heft to be quite daunting and haven’t even opened it yet!

  51. You’ve just reminded me that I’ve never read The Count of Monte Cristo. I really want to, because of the TV show Revenge (even though it’s only loosely based on it, it’d still be fun to be able to spot the references).

    And thanks for the Geisha of Gion tip πŸ™‚

  52. That’s an impressive list! Some hefty books there.

    Thanks for stopping by Project to be Read πŸ™‚

  53. Ohhh you’ve got some impressive books! I need to make more time for a few of these as well!

  54. I haven’t read any of these either! Thanks for stopping by!

  55. I’ve heard The Count of Monte Cristo is really awesome! πŸ™‚

  56. Poisonwood Bible is a good read. Have you read other Kingsolver?
    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  57. I think those would gather dust on my shelves as well πŸ˜€ Thanks for stopping by.