Teaser Tuesday – The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

Several months later, once he decides she is ready, the magician writes a letter of his own. He includes no address, but it reaches its destination across the ocean nonetheless.

page 11, The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

Synopsis:
The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.

But behind the scenes, a fierce competition is underway – a duel between two young magicians, Celia and Marco, who have been trained since childhood expressly for this purpose by their mercurial instructors. Unbeknownst to them, this is a game in which only one can be left standing, and the circus is but the stage for a remarkable battle of imagination and will. Despite themselves, however, Celia and Marco tumble headfirst into love – a deep, magical love that makes the lights flicker and the room grow warm whenever they so much as brush hands.

True love or not, the game must play out, and the fates of everyone involved, from the cast of extraordinary circus performers to the patrons, hang in the balance, suspended as precariously as the daring acrobats overhead.

Written in rich, seductive prose, this spell-casting novel is a feast for the senses and the heart.

What I think of it so far:
I’m not very far into this one yet, so I’ve purposely chosen a quote at random from early in the book. Although it’s not overtly about anything in particular, I feel it goes some way towards capturing some of the mystery. If I’d chosen one of the beautiful descriptions, I wouldn’t have been able to limit myself to just two sentences as they are so wonderful! Needless to say, I’m enjoying it immensely and looking forward to seeing how everything unfolds…

37 responses to “Teaser Tuesday – The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

  1. Wonder how the letter made it to the right place across the ocean with no address. Good teaser.

    Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Sounds great. I’d love to read this one as I’ve heard good things about it. Hope you enjoy and thanks for checking out my teaser.

  3. Oh, it’s on my wishlist! 🙂 I hope you’ll enjoy this book, great teaser!
    Thanks for stopping by my blog today and have a great day.
    Vicky

  4. This book has been on my TBR for a while. So glad you did a teaser of it! Enjoy it! 🙂

    Here’s my TT: http://palmtreesbarefeet.wordpress.com/2011/11/15/teaser-tuesday-nanowrimo-novel-teaser/

  5. I’ve heard sooo many things about this book.. It’s in a few categories on the Good Reads Readers Choice Awards…

    You’ve given me another reason to read this book!

    ~Keely~

  6. Love the teaser. And the cover. And the synopsis. Yeah, I definitely need to read this! 🙂

  7. What a great teaser! This book looks really interesting I will have to check it out.

    Thanks for stopping by TT.

  8. Sounds good hope you continue to like it

  9. This is one I’ve been looking at too. As far as the ‘2 sentence’ rule goes. I can hardly ever stick to that one, especially if I pick dialogue. Great teaser and thanks for stopping by mine! 😉

  10. I’m glad that you’re enjoying your book. It sounds like a unique story. Nice pick! And it’s nice to know too, that you randomly pick the teaser! =)

  11. Love the teaser! I’ve been wanting to read this one for awhile.

    Thanks for stopping by mine. 🙂

  12. This one has definitely piqued my curiosity…and I’ve been wanting to read this book! Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY TT POST and
    MY WEBSITE

  13. I have a sample of this book on my Kindle, my book club is also thinking about adding it to our TBR pile!

  14. I had a girlfriend read it bc I wanted to but had too many other to read. She said she thought it was fantastic. Great teaser!

  15. This was such a magnificent book, and you picked a great teaser! I think this could be a good re-read too…

    Please stop by and check out my Teaser / Top Ten Tuesday!!

  16. Wow, a magician can even get a letter delivered. I’d love to know that magic.

  17. Great teaser, I have this book sitting on my shelf waiting to be read, I’ll have to move it up the pile lol. new follower 😉
    Tristan @ Reads With Wreckless Abandon

  18. I’ve heard a lot about this one, and it is definitely on my wishlist. Thanks for visiting!

  19. Awesome Teaser, I really want to read this book, it sounds so intriguing. =]
    Here is My Teaser

  20. Sounds like it could be a very good read. Thanks for sharing!

  21. Thanks for dropping by!!

    I keep picking this book up and then putting it back as I am not sure I would like it. Will look forward to what you think when you finish.

  22. I can’t wait to get back to this one when review copies are slowing down. Loved the beginning. Awesome teaser!! Thanks for stopping by!

  23. I keep seeing good things about this one. interesting teaser! This one is on my TBR 🙂

  24. I am reading this book, too. I’m just about half way through. It’s delicious, and so beautifully written. I read a bit every night, I want to finish this book and I don’t want to … it’s that good.

  25. Once again I look forward to hearing your thoughts when you finish, as this sounds intriguing. Great Tease!

  26. omg i can NOT wait to get my hands on this book. thanks for stopping by!!

  27. Great teaser! I’ve heard wonderful things about this book 🙂
    Thanks for stopping by and happy reading!!

  28. Glad you found a book that you enjoy. It does sound interesting.

    Thanks for stopping my blog and enjoy your reading!

  29. I haven’t heard of this one before but it sounds good.

  30. Awesome teaser! I’ve been dying to read this book.

    Thanks for stopping by and reading my Teaser today 🙂

  31. Thanks for stopping by! Great teaser! I really need to get my hands on a copy of this!

  32. Intriguing. That would save lots of time! Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  33. Great teaser! I hope you continue to enjoy the book. Thanksfor sharing!

    Thanks for stopping by The Bookish Babes!

  34. Intriguing! Thanks for stopping by.

  35. great choice of a tease. Happy reading, and look forward to a review.

  36. Oooh, intriguing teaser!

    Thanks for dropping by mine! 🙂