Kid-speak Sunday

Being a Mum is the best job in the world and sometimes there’s the added bonus of hearing your kids come out with an absolute gem…

Everyone parent I know likes to think their kid is special in some way and I’m no exception – Xan is a smart little lad who knows all his letters, can do basic spelling and is beginning to recognise some written words; can do basic addition and subtraction; and is a wonderfully sensitive and loving boy.

See? He’s special! He’s the best little lad in the world and, of course, we want him to know that, so we tell him. The other day, though, Xander surprised me with his response to praise and being told he’s special:

“I’m not special. I’m ordinary. I’m just Xander!”

He said it with a smile too.

And you know what? I’m glad. I’m so pleased that he’s happy just being who he is. It’s perfectly alright for him to be an ordinary little boy, doing what three-year-old boys do and having fun.

I only hope I don’t ever put too much pressure on him to be anything other than himself. It’s difficult to get the right balance between being encouraging and supportive of your child, and going overboard, being pushy and instilling a belief in your child that they must always do better.

I, for one, will be happy if Xan just tries his best. Whether he comes first or last, so long as he’s done the best that he can do, that’s fine by me. I love him just the way he is and I always will. Now I just have to get him to realise it’s alright that Mummy and Daddy think he’s a little smasher, because he is!

What did your kid say lately that made you smile, laugh, cry, or simply think twice?

~***~

 

Comments are closed.