Show Gratitude For Books…

Beth Revis is hosting a most wonderful book give away with a prize of a stack of signed books, a box of delicious Turkish delight, and a mountain of book goodies – her generosity is boundless! In order to be in with a chance of winning this book bounty (which is open internationally!) is post about the giveaway and a book for which you are grateful.

Books for which I’m grateful:
The Chronicles of Narnia by C S Lewis
I adore this series of books and spent many an hour in my childhood completely absorbed in the magical world of Narnia. My favourite is actually The Silver Chair, closely followed by The Magician’s Nephew, both of which seem to be oft overlooked when people name their favourite in the series, but I love the darkness of The Silver Chair and the revelation of the very creation of Narnia in The Magician’s Nephew.

Macbeth by William Shakespeare
This is my absolute favourite of all the Bard’s plays. I love the complexity of the relationships overpowered by raw ambition. I also adore that Shakespeare showcased such a feisty, strong female character in Lady Macbeth, even if, ultimately, she was a tragic figure. We studied this play in Higher English and although I already enjoyed Shakespeare, the class really brought it to life for me. I eventually auditioned for a place on a college drama course (and was accepted unconditionally!) using a piece that cobbled together Lady Macbeth’s sleepwalking scene (but without the interjections from the other characters).

The Plucker by Brom
This is the book that awakened in me a love of graphic and illustrated novels. The sheer dark beauty of the story combined with the stunning artwork made my heart sing! Since then I’ve enjoyed many others (including Brom’s other works, The Devil’s Rose and The Child Thief – I recommend them all!), but The Plucker will always have a special place on my bookcase as the one that made me realise that illustrated novels aren’t always just for kids. Indeed, if a child stumbled upon Brom’s work he or she may well have bad dreams for a while afterwards, but the exquisite nightmarish quality of the work is truly a wonder that ever adult ready should enjoy!

So, which are the books tha make you grateful? I’d love to know. And if you share and link back to Beth Revis, you’ll be in with a chance of winning too!

One response to “Show Gratitude For Books…

  1. I love your choices, great books especially ‘The Plucker’, I won’t go on too much but Brom’s art is sublime, I’m glad you enjoyed it so much and thank you for introducing his books to me.