Teaser Tuesday – Century by Sarah Singleton

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

Mercy gasped, though she knew the ghost for what it was. The other ghosts – she had seen them so many times. They were familiar, unnoticed, like old paintings on the wall. Not this one.

– page 6, Century by Sarah Singleton

Synopsis:
Mercy and her sister Charity have never questioned their daily routine, each day unfolding exactly as the next. They live at night, sleep during the day and see their widowed father only rarely – their house shrouded in perpetual winter. Then one day, Mercy is woken to find a snowdrop on her pillow. A sign of spring, a subtle hint at a possible different future. A chance meeting with the mysterious Claudius sets her to questioning everything she has ever known – not least the truth behind her mother’s death. Bit by bit Mercy traces her parents’ story through the past, travelling back to see herself as a young child, silent witness to the dramatic events Claudius himself plays an enormous part in – only when she has pieced together the truth can her world begin to move on.

What I think of it so far:
I’ve only just started reading this young adult novel, but so far it’s pretty decent. It’s very cryptic and the mystery is rather compelling. I feel I’m being slowly reeled in like a fish and at some point I’m going to realise I can’t escape the pull…

26 responses to “Teaser Tuesday – Century by Sarah Singleton

  1. Good teaser and really like the sound of this book…. will have to check it out. Thanks for visiting.

  2. Uh oh. Trouble/danger is brewing.

  3. The cover looks great! I’m not big on ghost stories but really like the way you describe how you are feeling about this book!

  4. This book looks really good I love the cover too. Great teaser.

  5. Wonderful teaser. The synopsis sounds interesting to. Thanks for dropping by our post for teaser tuesday.

  6. Sounds like a fun read! Wonder what makes this ghost so different…

    Thanks for stopping by mine!

  7. That’s a nice teaser… kinda spooky! I’m a little chicken when it comes to ghost stories or something like those… =P

    Thank you for your visit!

  8. Very good teaser — can tell from it that Singleton is a good writer.

    Here’s mine —

    http://kirstenmortensen.com/teaser-tuesdays-a-rare-thing-in-podunk.htm

  9. I’m glad you are enjoying the book, however, ghost stories are not my cup of tea.

  10. I LOVE the cover on this one, and the teaser and blurb are very tempting. Thanks for sharing…and for visiting my blog.

  11. I’m glad you’re enjoying it! It looks creepy, but really good. Love the teaser too! Great choice. Thanks for stopping by!

  12. Great cover, and great teaser, too! I love a good ghost story, and this one sounds really intriguing.

  13. now i like the sound of this one, thanks for sharing 🙂 and thanks for stopping by 🙂

  14. I’ll have to add this to my list. Could use a good ghost story. Here’s my Teaser,

  15. A good teaser and an intriguing premise. Thanks for visiting!

  16. oooh sounds creepy, in a good way!

  17. I haven’t heard of this book, but it sounds really good. I’ll have to add it to my tbr list!

    Thanks for stopping by my TT 🙂

  18. I haven’t heard of this one, but it sounds interesting and different. Thank you for sharing!

    My Nov 8th Teaser Tuesday
    Gabby @ What’s Beyond Forks?

  19. Interesting! Sounds very mysterious!

  20. Awesome teaser!
    Enjoy the book!

    Thanks for stopping by and reading my Teaser 🙂

  21. Nice teaser! The cover of that book looks really creepy 😀
    Thanks for stopping by!

  22. Excellent teaser.

  23. sounds really interesting! thanks for stopping by!