WWW Wednesday

WWW Wednesdays are hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading.To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What are you currently reading?
Stephen Cole – Resurrection (Wereling Trilogy 3)

This is the conclusion of the trilogy – I’m about half way through and you know what? It’s pretty good! I’ve rather enjoyed these books and it looks like the last book will be just as good as the others.

Various – Dates From Hell (Compilation)
I’m thinking of ditching this one for now and perhaps coming back to it at a later date. Contains the following novellas:

  • Kim Harrison – Undead in the Garden of Good and Evil Like a Star @ heaven
    Absolutely dire. Reading this novella reminded me why I never got past the second book in the Rachel Morgan series. This novella includes the most unsexy and unexciting blood/sex scene I have ever had the misfortune to encounter and the story is both dull and predictable. I will be happy if I never read anything by this author again as long as I live.
  • The Claire Switch Project (CURRENTLY READING)
    So far it’s pretty decent and a damned sight better than the previous story, so I’m hopeful the others will be better too…
  • Kelley Armstrong – Chaotic
    Haven’t got this far yet, but I love Kelley Armstrong and am looking forward to it.
  • Lori Handeland – Dead Man Dating
    This will be my first experience of Lori Handeland’s writing…

What did you recently finish reading?
Philippa Gregory – The Lady of the Rivers (Cousins’ War 3) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
The third installment in the wonderful Cousins’ War series. I love historical fiction and although I usually go for Roman or Tudor, this isn’t too far out of my usual era as it’s the history of what happened right before the Tudor dynasty attained the throne – it’s how they got there really. I love this sort of historical faction. It took me a while to get through it, simply because I didn’t have much reading time and although I didn’t enjoy it quite as much as the previous novel, it was very good and I found the characters of Jacquetta and Richard to be quite enchanting.

Stephen Cole – Wounded (Wereling Trilogy 1) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
At last, a young adult horror/paranormal trilogy that’s NOT about vampires! (Especially of the sparkly variety.) This is werewolves all the way and is a lot of fun with some decent thrills and spills along the way, and a fairly original premise to boot. On top of all this, it’s fairly short. All three of the books could have been put together in a single volume split into three parts, but it would have been a little chunky and perhaps intimidated the youth audience, so this bite-sized morsel (forgive me –  I couldn’t resist punning!) is just the ticket and ends on an open note, ready for the second book to pick up where it leaves off.

Stephen Cole – Prey (Wereling Trilogy 2) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
This second installment of the Wereling Trilogy is pretty exciting stuff! This is far more original than some other young adult paranormal novels and occasionally strays into some very adult themes (although there has been no sex so far, there has been the threat that Kate may be taken by force if her mother gets her hands on her and into the very situation Kate is trying to avoid). It’s quite gritty in places and there have been some real thrills so far.

What do you think you’ll read next?
My own books:

  • Erin Morgenstern – The Night Circus

From the library:

  • Julia Golding – Cat’s Cradle (Cat Royal 6)
  • Sarah Singleton – Century
5 responses to “WWW Wednesday

  1. Great choices! The NIght Circus looks fabulous 🙂

    Here’s mine:
    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2011/11/www-wednesdays.html

  2. Interesting books! I really should read The Night Circus, too 🙂 Happy reading!

  3. I can’t wait to get there! I’m loving the books! Thanks for the visit! =)
    ~Hira

  4. Thanks for stopping by my blog! You have a decent sized selection there! Happy reading! =)

    Tina

  5. I read The Night Circus and enjoyed it. Hope you enjoy it as well.