Movie Mondays – Real Animals of the Universe

Share your movie picks on your blog and visit your fellow Monday Movie Meme participants to read what they are offering up. Remember and link back to Nicole at Madlab Post.

This week’s topic is… Real Animals of the Universe.

The first one that springs to mind for me is a real oldie – a screwball comedy starring two of Hollywood’s greatest, fast-talking, bantering stars, Cary Grant and Katherine Hepburn. Of course, I’m talking about the 1938 classic Bringing Up Baby. The “baby” in question is actually a fully grown leopard who causes all kinds of mischief just by, well, by being a leopard! Really, if you’ve never seen this film, you must rectify the situation immediately.

Go on. Off you go and get a copy. Don’t come back to read the rest of this post till you do!

So, did you enjoy it? I’m pretty certain I just heard a resounding “YES!” from you there! Now go off and watch the entire back catalogue of both these fantastic actors. I promise you won’t regret it!

Now, on with the meme…

Sticking with the big cat theme, my next pick is Born Free (1966), the true story of a wild lion cub (whose mother is killed) reared by humans as a pet, until her existence is threatened and they are forced to face facts – they  either have to teach her to live in the wild or send her to a zoo where she will spend the rest of her life caged. It’s a touching tale with poignant performances from Virginia McKenna and Bill Travers and I guarantee it will have you in tears more than once.

Last, but not least, I’ve chosen Gorillas in the Mist (1988). Another true story, this is the harrowing quest of one woman battling against poachers to save her beloved gorillas. Studying these great apes in the wild, she becomes a figure of respect and fear to the people native to the area and to the Rwandan government as she does everything within her power to ensure the safety of the animals she has come to know and love. It’s a tragic tale and another that will have you in floods if you have any heart at all.

3 responses to “Movie Mondays – Real Animals of the Universe

  1. I thought about Born Free myself but went for the others instead.

  2. Bringing Up Baby is vaguely familiar….probably because I spent a few hours trying to learn more about Katherine Hepburne after realizing that she and Audrey Hepburne are two different actresses.

    Although I don’t get into really old movies often unless they are true classics…I did watch “The Outsiders” for the first time a few weeks ago, so I might as well keep on going back a few years to check out movies that I either never heard of or was initially not interested in.

    Since the last two movies on this list are based on true stories, they give me the extra boost to go ahead and add all three of these films to my rental queue ASAP!

    Great list! Thanks for mentioning these titles.

  3. Love, love, LOVE “Bringing Up Baby.” That is all.