Booking Through Thursday – Vacation

Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

Vacation
Do your reading habits change when you’re on vacation? Do you read more? Do you indulge in lighter, fluffier books than you usually read? Do you save up special books so you’ll be able to spend real vacation time with them? Or do you just read the same old stuff, vacation or not?

It really depends on how much reading time I have. I used to read a lot more while on holiday as I had more time to myself. Now that I have a child, that time is taken up with him whether I’m on holiday or not. If we’re going away I do still take books with me to read, but usually only in the evenings in bed after Xander is asleep.

As for it influencing my reading choices, that’s a definite yes. I always try to take at least one novel set in the place I’m visiting. For example, when we visited friends in Swindon, I read The Eyre Affair (Thursday Next 1) by Jasper Fforde which is partly set in that city. I took other books too (Snow Flower and the Secret Fan by Lisa See, and Anne of Green Gables by L M Montgomery) but I made sure that the one I read from start to finish whilst there was The Eyre Affair. I also read Karma by Holly A Harvey whilst visiting family in Northumberland as it’s set in that area.

I do still read some of the same stuff I’d be reading anyway and no matter what I don’t switch to “lighter” or “fluffier” just because I’m on holiday – I read what I like, which is often historical fiction. If I can tie it to the area I’m visiting, so much the better!

11 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Vacation

  1. Same here – I don’t switch to lighter books just because I’m on holiday either. 🙂 It’s interesting how you tend to read books that are set in the place you’re visiting!
    Here’s my BTT : http://booksbiscuitsandtea.blogspot.com/2011/10/booking-through-thursday-4.html
    Have a great day! xxx

  2. I love how you read a book that’s set in the place you’re visiting! Do you ever go and find a pub or store that is mentioned in the book while you’re there in real life?

    Here’s my BTT:
    http://palmtreesbarefeet.wordpress.com/2011/10/20/booking-through-thursday-vacation/

    • I went round the Magic Roundabout in Swindon which, if I remember correctly, is mentioned briefly in The Eyre Affair. And one of my favourite crime fiction series is set in Aberdeen (the Logan McRae bokos by Stuart McBride) where I live and iknow all the places mentioned there very well. My old flat is pretty much exactly where the main character lives and the pub all the cops drink in used to be my local when I lived there, as well as my sister working in there. I get a real kick out of recognising the places mentioned in the books. 🙂

  3. I hadn’t thought of reading books set where I was visiting – that’s such an awesome idea 🙂 I remember having more time to read on holiday as a kid too – come the summer break from school you couldn’t separate me from my books lol!

    My BTT post is here if you’d like a look 🙂

  4. I like the idea of reading a book tied to the place where you’re going!

    Here’s my answer! Vacation reading, and reading faster than my parents.

  5. Interesting . . . someone should compile a list of books by location/setting to help vacationers . . .

    • I just usually do a search to see if I can find a mention of a book that mentions any locations in it, or get recommendations form friends, but the Swindon/Eyre Affair connection was pure chance. I got hold of the book about a week before we went on holiday and realised so I didn’t start reading it till we got there. 🙂

      I know full well that if I ever go to Paris, I’ll be reading The Hunchback of Notre Dame and Les Miserables! 😉

  6. oh, that’s a cool idea {of taking a book that’s set in the place you’re vacationing}. i really like that!

    Trish – My BTT Post

  7. You’ll find my reflections here
    I think I see a certain similarity in our answers even if partly for different reasons.