Movie Mondays – The Car’s The Star

Share your movie picks on your blog and visit your fellow Monday Movie Meme participants to read what they are offering up. Remember and link back to Dale at Smurfin’ the Web.

This week’s topic is… The Car’s The Star
Movies that you like where a car is one of the central characters in the film.

Seeing as Dale already mentioned the Back To The Future trilogy, starring that coolest-of-cool time-travelling DeLorean, I had to think again.

Not that I was a huge fan, but the first film that springs to mind is Herbie. That loveable little racing Beetle with the number 53 on the bonnet; star of The Love Bug (1968); Herbie Rides Again (1974); Herbie Goes To Monte Carlo (1977); and that later abomination starring LiLo, Herbie Fully Loaded (2005).

I have fond memories of watching the original movie as a child and it always seemed to be on in the Easter Holidays…

Next up is a car so cool it had people singing and dancing about it. Literally. Greased Lightning is a character in its own right in the 1978 musical Grease. This 1948 Ford is so cool it even flies at the end of the movie.

And speaking of flying cars, where would we be without the original levitating automobile, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang?  Star of the 1968 film of the same name, Chitty starts out a racing car that suffers a tragic accident, before being transformed by Caractacus Potts. And she floats too!

Last, but not least, I couldn’t fail to mention the hottest Hotrod in the world, Lightning McQueen! Star of Pixar’s 2006 animated film Cars, and costar of Cars 2 in 2011. He starts out a rookie with attitude, but realises the true value of friends…

4 responses to “Movie Mondays – The Car’s The Star

  1. Excellent choices, I knew there were loads yet =)

  2. I’d love to hang out with Herbie. He looks like a fun car, although I haven’t seen any of his on-screen performances, lol. I’m not sure if I’ll ever see Grease but did find Lightning McQueen to be a very funny character when I went to see Cars in the movie theater. I bet McQueen and Herbie could rule the world….or the road and big screen at least.

  3. creativeflow01

    Yeah, I love herbie as well lool. Especially the latest one. Havent see the animation Cars yet but the story plot sounds interesting.