Booking Through Thursday – Sequel

Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

Sequel
If you could get a sequel for any book, what would it be?

This is a bit of an odd one for me, as I’d both love a sequel to my choice but at the same time would be terrified it would ruin things. The Stand by Stephen King is one of my all-time favourite books and although I would love to find out what happened next (Spoilers – highlight to read them)

Where do Stu and Franny end up? Did they have more family? Do they ever return to Boulder? If they do, how has Boulder changed? Etc, etc, etc…

I would also really worry about it letting me down in a major way because it would have to be something really special to live up to the original. I know that if any writer could handle it, it would be Mr. King, but even he is not infallible and I don’t think I could, ahem, Stand to be disappointed by a duff follow-up!

11 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Sequel

  1. Ooo…I love Stephen King’s books but I haven’t read this one! Thanks for stopping by my blog. The list are all YA books but it’s good if you’re tempted! YA books are enjoyable to read too!

  2. LOVE Stephen King!!! A sequel to The Stand would be awesome!!
    Here’s Mine

  3. This is so often the problem with sequels – even though King is one of the best!

  4. Gotta love the King 🙂 but agreed, even he could mess that one up, potentially. Great book though!

    Here’s my BTT – House Millar series

    Aine

  5. reading rendezvous reviewz

    Not a fan of Stephen King books but my friend would agree with you.
    http://sidnebkclubreviewz.blogspot.com

  6. Great choice! I want more from the Stand too! 🙂

  7. I think a good book is difficult to follow with a good sequel.

  8. I think part of the joy of a good book is that while it may wrap up the central conflict, it doesn’t give us all the answers. It lets us contemplate, speculate and wonder after the last page is turned…

    And I prefer that to an unnecessary sequel that may not be up to what we’d hoped it would be. Or heaven forbid is by a different author. I’m thinking of the sequel to Gone With the Wind years ago…

  9. I’ve never read anything by Stephen King, but I am hoping to read some of his books this Hallowe’en season. Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂