Tip-Top Marshmallow Hats!

After the Great Cake Pops Disaster, I decided something a lot more simple and easier to make was on the cards for the party (I’ll be making other things too, but we’ll get to those later).

To my mind, there’s nothing simpler to make than marshmallow hats. After all, they consist of only three ingredients – marshmallows, melted chocolate and Smarties. What could be simpler? I was certain I could make these for the party without messing it up!

I was still wary after screwing up the seemingly simple task of melting chocolate yesterday, so I resorted to a super-duper mega-high-tech method instead – I chopped up the bar of chocolate into really small pieces, and popped them into a small bowl, boiled the kettle, filled a large mug with boiling water, and sat the bowl of chocolate on top. Result! Perfectly smooth melted chocolate and no having to throw out four bars’ worth of mess – hurrah!

While the chocolate was melting, I cut a piece of greaseproof paper and lined the bottom of my roasting pan with it to cut on any more mess from chocolate drips. Then I simply dipped the marshmallows in the chocolate and topped each one with a Smartie.

Don’t they look lovely?

I am now wondering, however, why most of the Smarties were pink and purple with only one or two of each of the other colours? I wanted a whole rainbow of marshmallow hats, but they’re definitely dominated by the girlier shades. I’m sure I remember a more even spread of colours when I was a kid, and I particularly mourn the orange ones (there were only two!) as they were always my favourites.

Anyway, they are done. I’m just waiting for the chocolate to set so I can pop them all in an air-tight container till Sunday…

Comments are closed.