Booking Through Thursday – Odd

Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

Odd
What’s the oddest book you’ve ever read? Did you like it? Hate it? Did it make you think?

I guess some of the fantasy books I’ve read in the past have been a little odd, and then there was Snow White and the Seven Samurai by Tom Holt which was funny-odd (and the only book by him I’ve ever actually enjoyed). But mostly I just find it odd that so many people seem to think The Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer are any good. I found them highly unoriginal and the characters incredibly annoying (sparkly emo vamps, and a clingy, whingy, pathetic female lead that is quite possibly the sorriest excuse for a role model ever to have made it to the printed page – Gods help the poor girls who think she’s a good example to follow!).

The Woman and the Ape by Peter Høeg was pretty weird. It started well in an almost fairytale kind of way, but got distinctly uncomfortable and then very, well, odd. I enjoyed it less and less as it went on and by the end I just thought it bizarre and a bit of a waste of my time to be honest.

2 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Odd

  1. I haven’t tried to read the Twilight Saga but I forced myself to sit through the first movie (on TV) just to try and get it. I didn’t get it. It certainly did not leave me with any wish to see/read the rest!
    Now you mention it I think I might have read that book by Peter Hoeg, but I’m not sure I finished it. Whether I did or not, it is pretty much erased from my head by now and I don’t think I’ll make any effort to recall it 😉

  2. I had a difficult time trying to think of an odd book I’ve read, but finally thought of one, at least I think it a bit odd.