Musing Mondays

Hosted by Should Be Reading

What are you most excited about reading, right now?

It can be a book you’re currently enjoying, or a book that’s yet to be published, etc.

~***~

Right now? At this very moment? I’m most excited about two books – one of which has just been published, the other will be published later this month – and I can hardly wait to get my greedy mitts on both of them!

Richard Castle – Heat Rises (Nikki Heat 3)
Richard Castle is a fictional author (not just an author of fiction, but a completely made up person) who is the star of the show Castle (where he’s played by the wonderful Nathan Fillion). I’ve already read the first two books in this series and loved them – Castle has become part of my Permanent Collection, which is a rare honour as I only keep a very small portion of the books I buy and when I do, I get them in hardback. The books tie in neatly with the show without copying the plotlines from it – it’s all very cleverly done and whether or not you watch the show, you can enjoy the books, which I’m sure you will if you read them! This one will be published on 20th October.

Brian Michael Bendis and Richard Castle – Richard Castle’s Deadly Storm (graphic novel)
I’m a fan of graphic novels anyway, so to combine this medium with crime fiction AND one of my favourite TV shows is just beyond awesome! This is the graphic novelisation of one of Richard Castle’s earlier books – Deadly Storm (there is no actual publication of that name by this fictional author – the series was made up for the TV show). The artwork looks great and Im’ desperate to get a look at one of Castle’s other characters, having come to know and love Nikki Heat from the other novels. This one was published on 21st September and I’ll be getting hold of it around the same time as Heat Rises.

You can bet that the moment I get both of these books I’ll be cracking them open to read non-stop till I reach the end!

I’m also incredibly excited about another book I’ve just bought but won’t be able to start reading for at least another week as I’m reviewing another book for a publisher.

Erin Morgenstern – The Night Circus
I heard about this one online by sheer chance and fell in love with the cover. Without even knowing exactly what it was about, I decided then and there that I was going to have this book! I bought it with some of my birthday money and it’s next on my list of books to read!

Isn’t that cover just gorgeous? Doesn’t it tempt you to grab it and read it till there’s no more to read? How could anyone possibly resist it?

10 responses to “Musing Mondays

  1. I agree, I fell in love with the cover a few days ago and it’s definitely one of the books I want to buy in the near future!

  2. The Night Circus is in my tbr pile too and can’t wait to read it since I have heard great reviews about it. We will have to compare notes!!!

    • It just seemed to come out of the blue. I’ve never read anything by this author and suddenly I was hearing about this book all over the place and it hadn’t even been published at that point – LOL! 🙂

  3. I have only read the first of the Castle books, but I’d like to read the rest too, once I catch up with the tv series. The Night Circus does sounds like a fabulous read. Happy Reading!

  4. Oh I’m super excited about reading The Night Circus as well. I just need to get my hands on a copy 😉

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  5. I am looking forward to reading the “Heat Rises” Castle book also.

    Thanks for the visit today.

  6. I haven’t heard of any of those books, but they sound great! Thanks for stopping by Magic is in Words, I hope you see you around!
    Have a great week,
    Katie

  7. i’ve heard a lot about Night Circus too! I will put it on my TBRs 🙂 thanks for sharing!

  8. I’ve been wanting to check out Night Circus!

    Thanks for stopping by!