Teaser Tuesday – Shadows and Strongholds by Elizabeth Chadwick

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teasers:

A low-hanging branch whipped at Brunin and he ducked low over Morel’s straining neck. Behind him he could still hear the clash of battle, but it was fading, as if they were out of the dining hall and in a vestibule.

– page 106, Shadows and Strongholds by Elizabeth Chadwick

Reluctantly Brunin raised his gaze to Joscelin’s flint-bright one. “I am not a coward, my lord,” he said tautly.

– page 224, Shadows and Strongholds by Elizabeth Chadwick

Synopsis:
A Mediaeval tale of pride and strife, of coming of age in a world where chivalry is a luxury seldom afforded, especially by men of power. An awkward misfit, loathed by his powerful and autocratic grandmother, nine-year-old Fulke FitzWarin (known as Brunin) leaves his family to be fostered in the household of Joscelin de Dinan, Lord of Ludlow. Here Fulke will learn knightly arts, but before he can succeed, he must overcome the deep-seated doubts that hold him back. Hawise FitzWarin is Joscelin’s youngest daughter and she befriends Fulke. As they grow up, an implacable enemy threatens Ludlow and as the pressure mounts, their friendship changes until one fateful day they find themselves staring at each other across a divide. Not only does Fulke have to overcome the shadows of his childhood, he faces a Welsh threat to his family’s lands, and the way he feels about Hawise endangers all his hard won confidence. As the menace to Ludlow intensifies, he must either confront the future head on, or fail on all counts, not knowing if Hawise stands with or against him.

What I think of it so far:
Although I’m a huge fan of historical fiction, I usually go for Roman, Tudor and Victorian eras, so this jaunt into the medieval period is unknown territory for me. I’m enjoying it immensely and if it ends as well as it started, I’ll be looking for more by this author in the future.

33 responses to “Teaser Tuesday – Shadows and Strongholds by Elizabeth Chadwick

  1. Good teaser thanks for sharing. This book will make a great present for someone I know. Happy TT.

  2. Thank you for calling by my teaser. I love historical fiction too 🙂

  3. Very interesting descriptor, ‘flint-bright’ – haven’t heard that before. Enjoy!

  4. I hope it doesn’t descend into trite territory, a lot of fantasy seems to be set in some random medieval period with long journeys 🙂
    (I love love fantasy, but some of the “inspired” books are really derivative.

    My teaser is at http://www.readseverything.blogspot.com

  5. Great teaser…. plus I love the cover.

  6. Elizabeth Chadwick is one of my favourite historical fiction authors, and especially when it comes to medieval hf! She bring the day to day to life in a way that few others do, but also tells cracking stories! Enjoy!

    My teaser this week comes from Everything Beautiful Began After by Simon Van Booy

  7. WOW. Those are good pulls!

    My teaser this week is from ‘The Strange Case of Finley Jayne’ by Kady Cross.

  8. You chose great teasers. And the cover of the book is certainly besutiful. Thanks for sharing!
    Thanks for stopping by The Bookish Babes!

  9. Thanks for dropping by Clandestine Sanctuary. I love the cover of this book! Not much of a historical novel type of girl but this looks interesting. Thanks for sharing. 😀

  10. Great teaser! I haven’t had the chance to read this one yet, but it’s definitely being moved up on my TBR list! Thank you for sharing! 🙂

    Here’s mine:

    http://amylunderman.blogspot.com/2011/09/teaser-tuesdays.html

  11. i loved one of her books but the others have been disappointing.

  12. Sounds like a great read! Thanks for stopping by.

  13. Great teaser! I haven’t read anything from Elizabeth Chadwick yet, I may have to check her out soon.

    Thanks for visiting.

  14. Interesting teasers! I haven’t read anything medieval in a while (unless you count fantasy…). Hope you’re enjoying the read!

    Thanks for visiting my blog today.

  15. Thanks for the great teaser, I haven’t read much historical fiction so I may have to check this one out! Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  16. Very intriguing teaser, Sounds like a great read.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  17. This sounds like an exciting read. I love reading books set in medieval times.
    http://www.alaskanbookcafe.com

  18. Ah, lovely! I haven’t read historical fiction for too long methinks! Thanks for this, will add to my tbr pile! Thanks also for posting at Read@UTS!

  19. I just finished her Lady of the English and LOVED IT! Going to find this one now. Great teaser 🙂

  20. Never heard of this book but it sounds interesting! Will keep an eye out. If I can ever get books again, that is

  21. WOW…sounds like a really good read. Definitely need to check this author out.

  22. Sounds interesting! I don’t reach much historical, but if it’s good, I enjoy it.