W… W… W… Wednesdays

WWW Wednesdays are hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading. To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What are you currently reading?
Simon Scarrow – Young Bloods (Revolution 1)
I think I might put this one aside for just now as I find I’m just not in the mood for it. I’m not abandoning it as it’s very good – I will definitely come back to it when I’m in a mood for revolutionary war!

Julia Golding – Black Heart of Jamaica (Cat Royal 5)
Almost finished this one and loving it. This really is a highly enjoyable series!

Kevin Brookes – iBoy
Just starting this one from the library. Young adult urban sci-fi thriller. Looks like it could be pretty good!

What did you recently finish reading?
Steven A Roman – Blood Feud (Saga of Pandora Zwieback vol 1) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
See my full review HERE.

John Boyne – Crippen (Transworld Book Group) Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
See my full review HERE.

Stephenie Meyer – The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner Like a Star @ heavenLike a Star @ heaven
I wasn’t impressed with the Twilight Saga (or Emo Sparkly Vamps R Us), but the completest in me demanded I read the accompanying novella. It’s no better than the rest of the series. Meyer is no great shakes as a writer and her one concession to originality is making her vampires sparkle in the sun. This novella is readable and blessedly short, but will only really delight those who are her most ardent fans.

What do you think you’ll read next?
Transworld Book Group

From the library:

You can find out more about the Transworld Book Group HERE.

18 responses to “W… W… W… Wednesdays

  1. I so agree with your assessment of The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner! I read it too only because I kept hearing this little voice say – you read everything else in the series. Next time that voice is getting an eviction notice. I think you might like one of the books I just finished, Pirates of Savannah by Tarrin P Lupo. I will have the review up this weekend. A migraine took me out of action for a bit so I am playing catch up now.
    Here is where to find my WWW http://www.alaskanbookcafe.com/

    • I’ll look forward to your review of Pirates of Savannah. I’ve never even heard of it before – I’m always on the look out for new authors to try. 🙂

      Hope your migraine has gone now. As a fellow sufferer, I can sympathise – migraines suck!

  2. LOL: “her one concession to originality is making her vampires sparkle in the sun.” I haven’t read the series (and I never will), but that made me laugh so much 😀 I’ve got iBoy & A Spy in the house on my tbr list! Happy reading!

  3. iBoy looks interesting as does Blood Feud.. Nice picks 🙂

    Thanks for stoppin’ by!

  4. I totally agree with your assessment of Stephenie Meyer. I am not much of a fan. I have The Host in my TBR list, but not sure why 🙂

  5. I like the sound of Blood Feud based on your review, might have to add another to me TBR pile.
    Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  6. Dead Trees and Silver Screens

    I read the short life of Bree Tanner too. Horrible stuff. I love how so many book bloggers don’t like Twilight.

    http://deadtreesandsilverscreens.blogspot.com/

    • I know – we seem to be a growing group, thankfully! I was hoping that more people would see sense and stand up to say “These books are terrible! Why does everyone bang on about them so bloody much?” given time…

  7. Love your comments about Meyer and I feel exactly the same way. I actually just did a post where I discuss why Bella makes a horrible role model for girls.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    • You’re right – Bella is one of THE worst possible role models ni modern writing. She’s needy, clingy and pathetic to the point that she falls apart when her sparkly emo boyfriend leaves. She shows absolutely no personal strength or personality and only measures her worth by having the aforementioned sparkly emo vamp as a boyfriend. What kind of message does that send to girls? You’re nothing without a man! Urgh! She’s such a wimp!

  8. I felt the same way about the Twilight novella. I had to read it because it felt like unfinished business, but it was nothing new, and her writing style just isn’t good.

  9. I didn’t read Bree Tanner, but I enjoyed the Twilight series. It’s by no means the best thing ever, but they were interesting to read. I really loved The Host, though. Have you given that a try?

    • I did have a copy, but I got rid of it without reading it as it wasn’t just the story of Thw Twilight Saga I didn’t rate – it was Meyer’s writing too – I just couldn’t get on with it at all and knew I wouldn’t be able to sit through another thick book written by her.