Ten Years Since the Twin Tower Terror

11th September 2001, 1.46pm (GMT) – just after lunch. I can remember exactly what I was doing.

Dale was at work, but I had the day off. I was sitting at the computer in the livingroom with the television on in the background for company when I turned and saw on the screen what I thought was a particularly chilling disaster movie. Moments later I burst into tears when I realised a “Breaking News” report had interrupted scheduled viewing and this was really happening.

I spent the rest of the day with tears streaming down my face at the horror of it all.

At 2.03pm (GMT) I sobbed out loud as I watched an airplane hit the second tower.

At 2.37pm (GMT) I was shocked to hear another aircraft had crashed into the Pentagon. The Pentagon! Wasn’t that supposed to be the centre of the department of defence for an entire nation? Shouldn’t it be immune to such an attack? My mind was well and truly boggled.

At 2.59pm (GMT) I fell silent with shock as the first tower started to fall. When the second tower began to tumble at 3.28pm (GMT) I realised I hadn’t made a sound in between.

In the meantime, at 3.03pm (GMT) the fourth passenger flight crash landed, missing its target, which was apparently supposed to be The Whitehouse or the Capitol.

It was a tragic day and one that will never be forgotten. It has become my generation’s “JFK”. Everyone knows where they were and what they were doing, unless they were too young to remember anything at all.

The resulting “war on terror” hasn’t ended yet. We’re all still paying the price for the actions of a few extremists and our world will never be the same again.

My admiration for those who risked their lives trying to save others is boundless, and my sorrow for those families who lost loved ones equals that.

Ten years on, I still feel the same.

Where were you?

 

Comments are closed.