Movie Mondays – The Digital Wave

This week’s topic is…… The Digital Wave – Movies featuring a plot that is centered on technology. Share your movie picks on your blog and visit your fellow Monday Movie Meme participants to read what they are offering up. Remember and link back to Nicole at The Madlab Post.

Well, between them, Nicole and Dale chose pretty much all the movies I would have posted (Hackers, Tron / Tron Legacy, Swordfish, The Matrix), so I had to think again. This is what I came up with:

The Net (1995)
Sandra Bullock and Jeremy Northam in a tense and thrilling ride as a computer software designer becomes embroiled in electronic espionage! It’s brilliant because it could so easily happen… Bullock and Northam actually have great chemistry and both put in sterling performances.

Johnny Mnemonic (1995)
I’m no fan of Keanu “wooden as a two-by-four” Reeves, but this one sprang to mind after having to discount The Matrix. Reeves stars as a data courier who uploads electronic data directly into his brain to be downloaded by the recipient at the other end.  Unfortunately, this data package is too large for his brain and will kill him if he doesn’t download in time (oh, if only!). Scary that it’s set only ten years from now…

GoldenEye (1995)
The last good Bond movie focuses on Her Majesty’s favourite oh-so-British spy attempting to prevent a nuclear disaster when the GoldenEye programme is hacked and the satellite weapons system falls into the wrong hands. And I really mean it – this really was the last good Bond movie – the ones since this have sucked royally!

By strange coincidence, all three of my choices are from the same year! I almost went with Short Circuit (1986), and the Back to the Future Trilogy (1985, 1989 and 1990), but thought it would be a shame to spoil my mid-nineties run!

2 responses to “Movie Mondays – The Digital Wave

  1. Some cracking choices there =)

  2. I vaguely recall “The Net” with Sandra Bullock. It is the only movie on this list that I am familiar with but have not watched. Goldeneye is something that I may add to my rental queue.