Teaser Tuesday – The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

Allie knew by his silence that he was thinking about her and found that she reveled in it. She didn’t know what his thoughts were exactly, didn’t care really, just knew they were about her and that was enough.

– page 66, The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks

Synopsis:
A man with a faded, well-worn notebook open in his lap. A woman experiencing a morning ritual she doesn’t understand. Until he begins to read to her.

Set amid the austere beauty of the North Carolina coast, The Notebook begins with the story of Noah Calhoun, a rural Southerner recently returned from the Second World War. Noah is restoring a plantation home to its former glory, and he is haunted by images of the beautiful girl he met fourteen years earlier, a girl he loved like no other. Unable to find her, yet unwilling to forget the summer they spent together, Noah is content to live with only memories…until she unexpectedly returns to his town to see him once again.

Like a puzzle within a puzzle, the story of Noah and Allie is just the beginning. As it unfolds, their tale miraculously becomes something different, with much higher stakes. The result is a deeply moving portrait of love itself, the tender moments and the fundamental changes that affect us all. It is a story of miracles and emotions that will stay with you forever.

What I think of it so far:
This is not the kind of book I normally read. Although it’s written by a man, it’s a bit “chick-lit” and romantic for my usual tastes, but this is utterly compelling. As the story slowly unfolds, I’m finding myself falling in love with Noah and Allie. I’m only half way through but I desperately want things to work out for them, however I get the sinking feeling things won’t go smoothly… Either way, even if I’m out of my comfort zone, I’m enjoying it.

6 responses to “Teaser Tuesday – The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks

  1. Nice Tease & Synopsis! I can never make up my mind about whether I want to read this or not…
    ;o)

  2. I haven’t read the book, but LOVED the movie. It’s still one of my favorites.
    Here’s Mine

  3. This is one of the rare books where I actually enjoyed the movie just a little more. 😉
    Here’s mine: http://duckduckcow.blogspot.com/2011/08/teaser-tuesday-dark-stormy-knights.html

  4. There’s nothing wrong with a bit of chick-lit. I don’t usually read it, either, but sometimes you need some girl-time, I think. Good teaser!

    My teaser is here.