Booking Through Thursday – Repeats

Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

What’s the first book that you ever read more than once? (I’m assuming there’s at least one.)

What book have you read the most times? And–how many?

There are literally countless books I’ve read more than once. I used to reread all my books when I was a kid, so all my Judy Blume books, the entire Malory Towers series by Enid Blyton, and such classics as The Snow Spider by Jenny Nimmo and Ronia, The Robber’s Daughter by Astrid Lindgren, were read so often my paperback copies became quite dog-eared, even though I’ve always been hyper-careful with my books.

Moving on to my teen years, I became a HUGE horror fan, so lots of Dean Koontz, Richard Laymon and Stephen King. The two that were most often read were Lightning by Dean Koontz (which I consider to be more sci-fi than horror), and Stephen King’s “magnificent octopus” (see Blackadder the Third’s episode Ink and Incapability if you don’t get this one), The Stand which I still read at least once every few years as I love it so much. I’ve also re-read all of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series.

Anyway, short answers to the questions:

The first book I can recall reading multiple times is Ronia, The Robber’s Daughter by Astrid Lindgren. I still adore this book now.

The book I’ve re-read most often remains The Stand by Stephen King. I have read it at least a dozen times from cover to cover. And we’re talking about the unabridged Complete and Uncut Edition which, in my hardback edition, comes to over 1000 pages. It’s my third copy as I wore out two others.

To be honest, the number of re-reads of this book is probably closer to two dozen. Bearing in mind that I am only in my mid-thirties and first read it when I was about 14-years-old, that averages at once a year. I’ve not read it in a couple of years (it’s definitely due another re-read soon!), but in the early years I got through it two or three times in a year. I always find something new and never get bored with it. Actually, it’s like visiting old friends – I’m particularly fond of Stu and Frannie, although Nick, Tom and Larry are all very close behind!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

7 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Repeats

  1. 🙂 for the BlackAdder mention! I haven’t read some of these, I’ll have to check them out. I also really enjoyed _Lightning_ and _The Stand_ although I never re-read them. The story remained so clear. Have you seen The Stand graphic novel series? Worth a look through.

  2. I reread a lot. Here is my BTT.

  3. The Stand is one Stephen King book I don’t recall reading and I too went through a Stephen King phase as a teenager. My favourite was The Firestarter.

    Here’s my BTT.

    • Oh, you MUST read The Stand! It really is fantastic. Not so much horror as a study of the human condition. The characters are so wonderful and the writing is brilliant. It really is King’s masterpiece. Fire Starter is good; Carrie is great; but The Stand is magnificent!