Stitchy Saturdays – Stitched Up…

Each Saturday, I will feature either something I’m currently stitching, something I’ve just finished stitching, or something I’ve just designed. I hope you’ll all join me in displaying some of your own work and leaving a link to your post in the comments below.

Over the last little while I’ve mostly been stitching for other people.

The first is a wedding sampler I was commissioned by a friend to design and stitch for one of her friends. It’s stitched in black floss on pale lemon 28-count evenweave (unfortunately, the photo doesn’t show the colour at all). I sent it unframed for my friend to have framed as she pleased.  It was a really tight timeframe, so I had to work my butt off getting it ready on time!

The second piece was for a friend of mine who recently had a baby boy.  As I met her after she had her daughter (we met through our children),  I hadn’t stitched a birth sampler for her before, so I decided to include both her children on this mini sampler which I designed.

I framed this one and sent it to her. By all accounts she’s pleased with it (phew!), which makes me very happy!

The third piece was for my Mam. It’s one of my Crazy January Challenge charts – Absence Makes the Heart Grow Fonder.

When I showed it to Xan, he asked what it said. I explained that it meant that we love people even when we don’t see them all the time. He smiled and said, “It’s for Mama!” (that’s what he calls my Mam). Sometimes he just really hits the nail on the head.

And finally, something I’m working on just for me. I’ve joined up with a bunch of other stitchers on Facebook who are all stitching my Rules For Life Sampler (so far I’ve sold 19 copies of it!). This is where I’m up to so far. It’s stitched on navy 14-count aida in Anchor 1335.

If you’d like to see how other people are interpreting the design, or to stitch along with us, you can check out the group on Facebook HERE.

Comments are closed.