Booking Through Thursday – Biographies

Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

There are so many crappy biographies … would you rather read a poorly written biography of a fascinating life, OR an exquisitely well-written, wonderful read of one of a not-so-interesting life?

A short answer for me –  I can’t have one without the other, really. A book has to be at least marginally well-written or I have difficulty letting myself enjoy it – the reason being I can’t get into the story that’s being told if it’s not being told well.

I’ve read some averagely-written auto/biographies and been able to get on with them because the life was interesting (Cybill Disobedience by Cybill Shepherd springs to mind here – average writing, but a rip-roaring read!) and I found it interesting and enjoyable.

I’m not likely to read about someone unless I find them interesting in the first place and I have read some first class auto/biographies as a result. Two absolutely awesome autobiographies (well, three really) that blew me away with just how inspiring people can be, were Lucky Man by Michael J Fox, and Still Me and Nothing Is Impossible by Christopher Reeve.

An example of an autobiography that was well written and about an interesting person, yet still a dull and plodding read is Lord of Misrule by Christopher Lee. A shame, because I really like him a lot!

6 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Biographies

  1. Fabulous answer. I’m with you on this and while I tend to stay away from the genere altogether, I do, when I find myself there, NEED a book to be well written!

  2. I enjoyed your answer much more than my boring one, I guess I should read a biography or two so that I have something to base my answer on if I ever get asked again. My BTT answer, if you are interested.

  3. I couldn’t agree more! Thanks for the recommendations too! 🙂

  4. I’m not big on biographies, but I did read “Always Looking Up” by Michael J. Fox, and loved it!