Booking Through Thursday – Dog Days

Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

What animal-related books have you read? Which do you love? Do you have a favorite literary dog? (Snoopy, anyone?)

I’m not really into animal stories (and, in fact, actively avoid one in particular – Watership Down – as the film freaked me out so much), but I have read one or two over the years.

The first one that springs to mind is Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White. As I’m absolutely petrified of spiders, it will surprise those who know me to know that I actually like Charlotte, and if all spiders would speak up with a friendly “Greetings and salutations!” then I might not be so terrified! This gorgeous story has been a favourite of mine since I was very small and Charlotte remains, to this day, the only arachnid that doesn’t freak me out (apart from The Snow Spider, but that story is more about the children, so I won’t post about that one ni this list).

Next is another childhood favourite I still love, and I’m sure this will feature on many lists – The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame.  I still adore reading the delightfully gentle adventures of Mole, Ratty, Badger and, of course, the inimitable Mr. Toad! I’ve had a hardback copy since I was just a few years old and I have read it many times since then. nowadays I read from it to my young son who seems to love them every bit as much as I do!

 I should perhaps mention a few more that others may not have on their lists, so here are some I reviewed a few years back.

The Mob by Clem Martini is the story of a murder of crows (yes, the collective noun for crows is a “murder”). Buster Fleabags is a quick read by Rolf Harris, the story of his boyhood days and his wonderful dog with the most wondrous name! Life of Pi by Yann Martel is an extraordinary journey taken by a young boy and a Bengal tiger in a lifeboat after the ship they are sailing on from India to Canada sinks beneath the waves. If you like classics, then Tarzan of the Apes by Edgar Rice Burroughs is a good one to try. For some classic mystery, try The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. And finally, if you like the Discworld, you’ll probably love The Amazing Maurice and His Educated Rodents by Terry Pratchett – it’s aimed at his younger fans, but is enjoyable for any age!

So, there are a few to get you going. If you haven’t already read them, give them a try!

8 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Dog Days

  1. You made me think of another Ralph S. Mouse and Stuart Little. I loved them too!

  2. Hi Kell, I just wanted to let you know this email didn’t go through properly. Obviously it’s fine here on your site, but I got a bunch of goobledy-gook in my email. The only animal books I’ve read recently are the Mrs. Murphy series by Rita Mae Brown. The animals often solve the mystery before the humans. I like your choices.

  3. Of I didnt even think of these types of books. I love Charlotte’s Web!

    My BTT answer.

  4. I did add the Snow Spider because I really liked the spider. I loved Maurice and his Educated Rodents. I’m reading the Life of Pi at the moment but as I haven’t really reached the animals yet didn’t add it to the list. http://unicornslaststand.blogspot.com/2011/07/dog-days.html

  5. Wow! I could only come up with 3 books. I’ll have to check out some of the ones you listed!
    Here’s My BTT

  6. I was horse-crazy as a teenager so I read a lot of those books (but not in English, yet 🙂 ).
    I forgot about Tarzan.