Teaser Tuesdays – The Mesmerist by Barbara Ewing

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

In the basement she sat Rillie in a chair, placed Alphonse and one of her aunt’s books on the table. “I’m going to read your head, like I explained yesterday,” she said to Rillie.

– page 64, The Mesmerist by Barbara Ewing

The blurb from the back of the book:
Unable to find stage work, actresses Cordelia Preston and Rillie Spoons need to find a way of making a living. Cordelia remembers the skills of her aunt and sets out to be a phreno-mesmerist, advising couples on their compatibility and enlightening women on ‘The Gentle Intricacies of the Wedding Night’. Cordelia finds that she does indeed possess the gift for mesmerism, and as her popularity grows, she and Rillie are finally living their dream. But events from Cordelia’s past return to haunt her, and the women become embroiled in a scandal that threatens to ruin not only them but those they love …

What I think of it so far:
I’m about half way through the book and although it started quite slowly, it really set the scene and I’m enjoying it a great deal. It was certainly a great bargain, as I picked it up by sheer chance for only £1!

9 responses to “Teaser Tuesdays – The Mesmerist by Barbara Ewing

  1. Did I read that correctly – Read your head? Sounds very interesting.

  2. That sounds interesting to me. I love the cover. Never heard of this one.

    • I picked it up in the local pound shop, so Im well chuffed. I oftem pop in on the offchance that there might be some interesting books. I’ve managed to get quite a few book bargains in there. 🙂

  3. Sounds good. I might look out for that one.

  4. Wow, this sounds fascinating. Thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY TT POST

  5. What?! I wanted to find out how she is going to read her head.
    The cover is eerie.
    This will go on my tbr now.

    here’s my tt: http://www.peaceloveandreviews.com/2011/07/teaser-tuesday-4.html

  6. Pingback: W… W… W… Wednesdays | Diary of a Domestic Goddess