Movies Monday – Battle Axe

This meme is hosted by The Bumbles Blog

This week’s movie topic is all about Epic Battle Scenes…

I’d like to go one step further and present to you three battles of seemingly impossible odds – one against many. This is because my lovely hubby got in ahead of me and chose some of the larger battle scenes I’d thought of sharing.

The film that immediately springs to mind is Equilibrium, which has, in my opinion, some of the finest battle scenes ever committed to film. This is due to something they developed specifically for the movie – a technique called Gun Kata. The theory is that the trajectory of bullets can be predicted and those who know Gun Kata can position themselves in such a way that their very specific movements will cause the most damage to their enemies with the least energy expended. It’s easier to let you see, so here’s a compilation of the battle scenes from Equilibrium, from a time before Christian Bale started using a stupid voice in lieu of actual acting…

Wow! Blows you away, doesn’t it? Well if you liked that, I’d next like to point you in the direction of awesomeness in a purple wig. If you haven’t seen Kick-Ass, then you’ve been missing out on a pint-sized super hero called Hit Girl. Just sit back, relax, and enjoy some of her finest on-screen moments!

My final choice is a battle only in the mind of one man. In Monty Python and The Holy Grail, Sir Lancelot believes he’s rescuing a captive princess and needlessly interrupts a wedding party with bloody (and hilarious) results.

I hope you’ve enjoyed these clips and that if you haven’t already seen these films, you’ll go and search them out, as they’re all very worthy of your attention!

9 responses to “Movies Monday – Battle Axe

  1. Funny choice with Monty Python, The Black Knight wouldve been a good choice also =)

  2. What an inspired choice Monty Python was! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Nice choice on Monty Python! I never would have thought of that!

    Mine is here: http://www.endomental.com/2011/06/monday-movie-meme.html

  4. The only I’ve seen of yours listed is Monty Python and the Holy Grail! I really want and need to see your others listed 🙂 Impressive choices.

  5. Haha! monty python! For sure. Haven’t seen the others.

  6. Oh, what a fun choice in Holy Grail!

    Thanks for visiting mine!

  7. I adored Hit Girl in Kick Ass 🙂