Booking Through Thursday – Soundtrack

Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

What, if any, kind of music do you listen to when you’re reading? (Given a choice, of course!)

Actually, I don’t tend to listen to music while I’m reading – I prefer things to be as quiet as possible, although if there is background noise, I’m pretty good at filtering it out.

The two places I most often find time to read are in bed and in a cafe before I start work three evening a week. In bed, my hubby tends to have the radio on quietly, so it’s Talk Sport I tune out. At the cafe, it can be anything, but more often than not, it’s a combination of easy listening and soft jazz. Either way, I’m so focussed on my book that I don’t tend to take any notice of it.

The thing is, if I’m actually listening to music, I can’t resist singing along to it, which would distract me from my reading.

9 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Soundtrack

  1. I get distracted if there is a lot going on.

    My BTT

  2. I don’t listen to music while reading either. If I focus on the book I don’t hear the music, and if I listen to songs I like I’d either sing or dance or both 🙂

  3. I tend to sing along music, too, so that excludes reading. And vice versa, so I read mostly in silence. Here is my BTT post.

  4. Great answer, but sadly I am opposite though. 🙂

  5. Yes, background music is the best…thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

  6. Now that I think of it, I can read at a cafe too. Even if there are people talking, I can tune them out. But why not music or the TV?!

  7. I agree…if there is music on, it needs to be in the background and I can’t engage in it. I can’t do two things at once! 🙂

    Hope you’ll stop by and say hello…

    Cindy at Cindy’s Book Club