Tuesday Tunes – “First of Many”

Tuesday Tunes is a music meme hosted by Dale at Smurfin’ the Web.

To take part, answer the question and post a link in the comments at his blog HERE.

The First of Many
What was the first music single you bought? Now this could be a CD if you’re young enough, or a cassette if you’re lame enough or if you’re old enough like me, the faithful 7″ vinyl. Of course if you’re even older than that I’ll accept 78s.

I bought three singles on the same day – yes, they were all vinyl. I’m not sure where I got them, but I know it wasn’t our local Woolworth’s – I remember it as being quite dark and it being filled with records, but I can’t for the life of me remember where it was!

The first one I picked up is one I’m rather proud of, as I’m still a big fan to this day – Prince Charming by Adam and the Ants. It hit #1 in September 1981 and stayed there for 4 weeks. I even remember the B-side – it’s Christian D’Or! I spent many happy hours dancing the Prince Charming across the livingroom. I loved the video too – it featured the wonderful Diana Dors as fairy godmother

The second one was That Ol’ Devil Called Love by Alison Moyet, which she released in 1985. Already it becomes clear that I did not buy these singles as they were released, otherwise my Adam and the Ants purchase would have been made when I was five years old! I love Alison Moyet’s voice and her version of this classic song is wonderful. I still sing it now.

The last one is, I’m afraid, a single I’m a little less proud of ever having owned, although it was incredibly popular at the time. TVAM was a morning television programme with the dubious honour of having been saved by a rodent – Roland Rat, Superstar! And in 1983 he released a single. And it was called Rat Rapping. And I still know all the words!

Seeing as how the most recent of these three was released in 1985, I can only surmise that I bought all three of them together in that year. I would have been eight or nine years old at the time. I feel my choices reflect my broad tastes in music (which is something that continues today). And yes, I still love my first singles, even though I no longer have them.

3 responses to “Tuesday Tunes – “First of Many”

  1. Laughing at Roland Rat. Odd that would both buy Adam & The Ants as our first though =)

  2. Interesting.. I think mine was likely a New Kids on the Block and/or Men Without Hats, but I don’t really remember since it’s been so long. Definitely a tape though, not a 7″.