Teaser Tuesdays – The Shadow in the North by Philip Pullman

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teasers:

And then it happened. Mrs Budd gave a convulsive little shudder, and began to talk in a low voice – her own voice, this time, but brimming with fear and horror.

– page 37, The Shadow in the North by Philip Pullman

But before Mackinnon could answer, a trapdoor banged open somewhere above them, and Mackinnon twisted out of her hands and vanished into the shadows like a rat. She took a step after him, but stopped; she wouldn’t catch him now.

– page 131, The Shadow in the North by Philip Pullman

This is the second book in the Sally Lockhart series and although I haven’t enjoyed it quite as much as the first one, it’s still pretty good, and certainly good enough for me to want to continue with the rest of the series. I’m almost finished, so these teasers make far more sense to me than they might to someone coming to them out of context, but they do both give you a bit of the book’s flavour. Both teasers are from very theatrical moments in the plot – the first at a spiritualist meeting, the second at a music hall show, both of which play a significant part in the proceedings…

10 responses to “Teaser Tuesdays – The Shadow in the North by Philip Pullman

  1. Hi,

    What a fantastic teaser!

    Have a wonderfull day!
    Kyanara from The Life of a BookAholic

  2. Great teasers! I love Pullman’s work, but I haven’t read this series yet.
    Here is my Teaser Tuesday post.

  3. Sounds like you’re reading a scary one there or perhaps you are teasing us with a creepy part. The series is new to me but I’m glad to hear it’s good.

    Margot @ Quirky Girls Read

  4. Great teasers. I love the His Dark Materials series but the Sally Lockheart books are still on my tbr pile. Maybe when I have a little more time I will get into them.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/06/teaser-tuesday-24.html