Movie Mondays – Prozac, Anyone?

This meme is hosted by The Bumbles Blog

This week’s theme is depressing movies…

The first film that springs to mind is the truly dreadful The House of Mirth. Despite being based on the classic novel by Edith Wharton, and starring the likes of Gillian Anderson, Anthony LaPaglia, Dan Ackroyd and Eric Stolz, I found myself being increasingly compelled to slash my wrists while I was sitting in that dark cinema. It’s a depressing plot and an over-long film. That’s 2 hours and 20 minutes of my life I will never get back. I’m only glad I got to see it for free (because I worked at the cinema), because otherwise I may have had to go postal on the cinema staff for agreeing to take my money for it!

Dancer in the Dark, however, was depressing but brilliant. Bjork was absolutely dazzling as the young mother whose sight is failing fast. She works hard to save money for a sight-saving operation, not for herself, but for her son, who has the same condition. She offsets the depressing reality of her life by imagining a dream world where everything is a Technicolor musical with her as the star. Also starring the wonderful Catherine Deneuve and a great turn from David Morse – this is one film where I’m quite happy to be depressed!

Another example of a depressing but magnificent film is Schindler’s List. All that death and torment and oppression, along with it being shot almost entirely in black and white (as if to highlight the fact that nothing in life is ever black and white – it’s all shades of grey), is made entirely inspirational by the performances given by the stars. We have both Liam Neeson and Ralph Fiennes at their very best, as well as the ever-wonderful Ben Kingsley. It really is awesome – all the more so because we know it’s true. It deserved every one of its seven Academy Awards.

9 responses to “Movie Mondays – Prozac, Anyone?

  1. Very interesting and unique choices; I still have to see Dancer In The Dark, although it’s listed in many Top 10 of the saddest movies ever!

  2. Interesting choices, only seen 1 and a half of them

  3. I listed Schindler’s List, too, and for all the same reasons. It’s an excellent film and I admire it, but please God, DON’T MAKE ME SIT THROUGH IT EVER AGAIN!

    • I’ve seen Schindler’s List several times now and love it. The first time I watched it, however, was so gut-wrenchingly upsetting I felt sure I’d never watch it again. Its on subsequent viewings that the hope and inspiration that Bumbles mentioned in the other comment set in for me. It has big, depressing themes, but it’s such a wonderful film and an awesome piece of film-making…

  4. At least Schindler’s List had hope and survival amongst the reality of horror.

    I just finished reading The House of Mirth and it was very sad – but again, there many moments of levity mixed within things while Wharton poked fun at the upper class – I was told this version of the film was well done – maybe not so much eh?

    • I agree re Schndler’s List, but the first time I watched it, I foud it so upsettnig that only the depressing themes registered with me. On subsequent viewings I found it easier to see the more positive parts. Either way, I loved it from the start.

      Re The House of Mirth, there was pretty much nothing mirthful in the film at all that I can remember. I just have an ovrwhelming sense of depression and boredom when I recall watching it. I’ve not yet read the book, but I intend to, if only in the hope that it can’t possibly be as bad as the film – LOL!

  5. Did you ever see the old “Bridge to Terabithia”? Even the new one was a bit depressing. I think I was only 10 when I watched the original though, so it affected me significantly.