Booking Through Thursday – Interactive?

Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

With the advent (and growing popularity) of eBooks, I’m seeing more and more articles about how much “better” they can be, because they have the option to be interactive … videos, music, glossaries … all sorts of little extra goodies to help “enhance” your reading experience, rather like listening to the Director’s commentary on a DVD of your favorite movie.

How do you feel about that possibility? Does it excite you in a cutting-edge kind of way? Or does it chill you to the bone because that’s not what reading is ABOUT?

I’ve actually written a couple of articles on the subject of e-readers for The Book Club Forum Blog (Could E-Readers spell the E-nd of books? and E-books Outselling Hardbacks on Amazon…).

Personally, I’m not bothered about book trailers, music and commentaries with my books – I like to read in as peaceful surroundings as I can find, so having noise as part and parcel of a book wouldn’t appeal to me at all. If I were to some day have an e-reader, it would be solely to read books and be able to transport a huge library of them with me at all times, so that if I get bored with my current book, I still have alternatives from which to choose.

However,  I love the heft of a physical book in my hands.  I love the smell of the paper. I love the gentle rustle of the pages as I turn them and the texture of them under my fingers. I love to turn the book over in my hands and admire the cover art. With an e-reader,  I would have none of that tactile experience that adds to my enjoyment of reading.

I’m not saying I’ll never get an e-reader, in fact, I’m certain I will one day have one of my own, but for me, a machine will never replace physical books. There’s nothing quite like browsing in a well-stocked book shop, or losing yourself in the stacks at the library, and downloading a book directly to your e-reader will never be able to replicate that sensation of being completely surrounded by books.

5 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Interactive?

  1. Yes, you sound like me. :O) I know it’s not very green and it’s killing my back to lug around 28 books or whatever the weekly count is that I insist on carrying about but still…

    • Yes, I always have a paperback or two in my handbag to read when I get a spare moment or two. Unlike you though (or as your name would suggest), I can’t bring myself to write in books – LOL!

  2. Great answer! I’m with you there, on being torn between the two. I love having just a book in my hands. 🙂

  3. I am there I get torn and it is really difficult sometimes.

    My Answer

  4. I once thought that way too 😉 then I bought my first ereader and I have to say that even though I still LOVE my DTB’s I ❤ my readers a wee bit more for convenience sake.

    http://badassbookreviews.com/2011/06/16/booking-through-thursday-interactive-btt/