W… W… W… Wednesdays

WWW Wednesdays are hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading.To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

What are you currently reading?
Malinda Lo – Ash
See yesterday’s Teaser Tuesday for a taste of this reworking of the Cinderella story.

What did you recently finish reading?
Paul Stewart & Chris Riddell – Return of the Emerald Skull (Barnaby Grimes 2)
When it comes to tales that will grab youngsters and really keep them gripped to the end, you’d be hard pushed to find another writer/illustrator team that can match up to these guys. Return of the Emerald Skull is dark and dangerous and just gruesome enough to appeal to young lads!

Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell – Legion of the Dead (Barnaby Grimes 3)
The third installment of the Barnaby Grimes series is every bit as enthralling as the first two. They keep getting darker as Barnaby is thrust into yet more thrilling adventures. I’ll definitely be getting hold of the last in the series…

Simon Scarrow – The Legion
Yes,I finally found the time to finish this one and it was worth every second! Although this is the tenth novel ni the series, it’s still as fresh and exciting as the first. Scarrow manages to keep the plots and characters cranked right up, and the tension of life in the Roman military is brought sharply to life by an absolute master of historical fiction.

Julia Golding – Cat Among the Pigeons
Julia Golding isn’t afraid to tackle big themes, even though they’re aimed at a younger audience. In The Diamond of Drury Lane, the story revolved around political activism and freedom of speech; this time it’s slavery. Golding never condescends to her audience and she handles her subject matter with great skill. The characters and situations are all wonderful and incredibly real.

What do you think you’ll read next?
Philip Pullman – The Shadow in the North (Sally Lockhart 2)
I really enjoyed meeting Sally Lockhart, so I’m looking forward to following her further adventures in this, the second in the series…

12 responses to “W… W… W… Wednesdays

  1. Haven’t read the books but I loved the Sally Lockhart movies.

  2. I’ve read Malinda Lo – Ash a while ago and really like it! Great picks! 🙂

  3. The Julia Golding one looks great!!
    Haven’t heard of a few of these titles.

    Enjoy!
    Aislynn
    http://knitpurlstitch.blogspot.com/2011/06/w-w-w-wednesday-3.htm

    • If you decide to read the Julia Golding ones, make sure you start with The Diamond of Drury Lane – it’s the first in the series and is very good. I plan on reading the rest of the series very shortly too! 🙂

  4. Neat choices. I just picked up Cat among the pigeons from the library yesterday, for my 10 and 12 year-olds.
    I haven’t heard of the Simon Scarrow series before – is it suitable for a young-adult audience by any chance? I don’t mean having young characters, just not be rated ‘R’ for nudity/gore.

    • I wouldn’t recommend the Simon Scarrow Romans series to a younger audience, no – it has quite graphic descriptions of war with the characters right in the thick of the battle. There’s also a bit of very strong language peppered through it, as you’d expect from hard-living legionaries. Maybe older teens, but it’s definitely for the grown-ups and is excellent.

      If you’ve got Cat Among the Pigeons, make sure you go back and get The Diamond of Drury Lane to read first, as CATP is the 2nd in the series. Both excellent though. I’ll be picking up the third installment when I next go to the library. 🙂

      • Doh – I was trying to get the first book. Somehow I didn’t spot DoDL first. Ah, well.
        Very strong language? Ohhh that’s the last thing I need to hand to a 12-year-old boy. Thanks for helping me screen ….

  5. Sandy – Your 12-y-o boy might enjoy Alex Scarrow’s TimeRiders series (Simon’s brother). I’ve only read the first one, but it’s very good and I have the second one ready to read too.

    He might also enjoy the Barnaby Grimes books, although I’d say he’s perhaps heading towards the higher end of their target market.

    Has he read any of The Saga of Darren Shan by Darren Shan? They’re pretty decent too. Start with Cirque Du Freak and go on from there… There are twelve in the series ,so they should keep him busy for a while. There’s also the Demonata books (10 of them) by the same author.

    Anthony Horowitz is another author I recommend for teens, especially boys. the Power of Five books are espcially good and his Alex Roder series is very popular too.

    Rick Riorden is also worth checking out. I’ve enjoyed his Percy Jackson series immensely and he has others that look equally good.

    Finally, I heartily recommend the Skulduggery Pleasant books by Derek Landy – there are 6 so far and I think there’ll be more to come. Excellent stuff. 🙂

    Hope I’ve managed to come up with a few new ones for your son to enjoy. i know boys can sometimes be a little more difficult to cater for once they get to that in-betwen stage and I’m anticipating it early (my son’s 2 1/2) by building a collection in advance for him to enjoy – LOL!

  6. I remember reading Beyond the Deepwoods by Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell when it first came out. that’s a blast from the past

    I loved (still do in fact) the Sally Lockhart novels, great rip roaring adventures…the third book is excellent.

    • I have the entire seies of The Edge Chronicles – I adore Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell and conider them one of the best writer/illustrator teams around today. 🙂

      And now that you’ve so heartily recommended Sally Lockhart #3, I can hardly wait to get to it!!!