W… W… W… Wednesdays

WWW Wednesdays are hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading.To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

My answers:
What are you currently reading?

Simon Scarrow  – The Legion
Yes, I’m still reading this one. It’s taking a while, not because it’s not good (it’s fabulous, actually), but because it’s the hardback I’m reading in bed, and I’ve been exhausted by bedtime lately. It’s a bit big to carry around in my handbag (that’s reserved for paperbacks), so it stays home and waits for me to be awake enough to read in bed. I think it should be finished by next week though…

Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell – Barnaby Grimes 2: Return of the Emerald Skull
I picked this up from the library at the weekend and it’s now my handbag book, despite being a hardback, because it’s a small one. I enjoyed the first book in the series, so I’m hoping this sequel will be just as good.

What did you recently finish reading?
Alex Scarrow – TimeRiders
I’m a huge fan of Simon Scarrow, and I’d been meaning to give his brother, Alex, a try for ages. Well, I finally did and I wasn’t disappointed! I don’t read an awful lot of sci-fi, especially if it features time travel, because I very easily get frustrated when authors ignore time paradox (honestly, I find it absolutely maddening!), but Scarrow handles it well and the fact that both the characters and plot are well-written and exciting helps a great deal! If you’re into sci-fi and time travel, don’t let the fact that this is from the teen/young adult section put you off – it’s well worth picking up!

What do you think you’ll read next?
Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell – Barnaby Grimes 3: Legion of the Dead
I’ll be continuing with the Barnaby Grimes series…

Julia Golding – Cat Among the Pigeons (Cat Royal 2)
Another continuation after reading the first in this series last month…

I know I said last week that I was going to read The Crimson Petal and the White next, but as I got seven books out of the library, I figured I’d better read those first, so I can finish them all before the return date at the end of the month!

11 responses to “W… W… W… Wednesdays

  1. Great choices, I’m definitely checking them out! 🙂 Here are mine:
    http://amylunderman.blogspot.com/2011/06/www-wednesday.html

  2. I’m going to have to check out Time Riders. Sounds like a book I could enjoy.
    http://readingonplanetcaddick.blogspot.com/2011/06/w-w-w-wednesdays-june-8.html

  3. You are reading a series. I’m going to have to find me one of interest and dab into it also.
    mine: http://sidnebkclubreviewz.blogspot.com

    • I’m reading several series at the moment and they’re all good:

      The Romans series by Simon Scarrow
      The Sally lockhart series by Philip Pullman
      The Barnaby Grimes series by Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell
      The Cat Royal series by Juia Golding

      Those are the ones I can think of off the top of my head. There are others I’m reading as theyr’re published too:

      The Discworld series by Terry Pratchett
      The Sookie Stackhouse series by Charlaine Harris
      The Women of the Otherworld series by Kelley Armstrong
      The Logan McRae series by Stuart MacBride
      The Cousins’ War series by Philippa Gregory

      Again, that’s just off the top of my head – I’m sure there are more!

  4. I’m going to have to add The Legion to my TBR pile. Thanks!

    Here’s Mine

    • If you’re going to read The Legion, be sure to start from the beginning of the series with Under the Egle – The Legion is actually the 10th book in the series. Really, it’s worth starting at the beginning as the characters develop so much and they really are excellent. Promise me you’ll start at the beginning, please! 🙂

  5. Time Riders does sound promising. Putting it into my TBR…

    About the ‘Cat’ … Funny coincidence – I read a different book, called Kat among the Pigeons. It was fun too, but not quite as MANY adventures as your ‘Cat’ promises to have.

    Here’s mine:
    http://bibliophage91.wordpress.com/2011/06/08/www-wednesdays-bibliophages-book-buffet-june-8/

  6. These sound like good books. 🙂

    You can read mine if you want: http://rockielove.blogspot.com/2011/06/www-wednesdays-003.html

  7. I love time travel-books, and I now have Time Riders on my “have to read”-list 🙂
    Hugs from anette in Norway 🙂

  8. Glad to see you like Simon Scarrow, I’ve been interested in trying him, and I didn’t know he had a brother who was also an author, so yet someone else to add to my list of persons of interest!

    Here is my WWW if you’d like to visit!