Top Ten Tuesday – Favourite Book Settings

Top Ten Tuesday is an original feature/weekly meme created and hosted at Broke and Bookish.

 

My Top Ten Favourite Book Settings are:
1. The Discworld (The Discworld series by Terry Pratchett)
From the Ramtop Mountains, to the great and sprawling twin city of Ankh Morpork, out beyond the Circle Sea to the very Rim, I adore this world!

2. The Roman Empire (The Roman Series by Simon Scarrow)
From the very start where they’re conquering Britain, right up to date where they’re battling the Nubians in Egypt, this series takes the reader right across the ancient world.

3. Paui (Savages by Chirley Conran)
A group of corporate wives are stranded in what might initially seem like a Pacific Paradise when their husbands are brutally slaughtered. They have to learn to pull together and learn fast to survive.

4. Northanger Abbey  and Regency-period Bath, England(Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen)
A huge, rambling Regency-period home filled with secrets. Exciting stuff! And the hustle-bustle of Bath, with all the balls and visits to the theatre…

5. Narnia (The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis)
Come on – who wouldn’t want to visit Narnia? Filled with mystery and magic, and a benevolent talking lion to boot!

6. Mother Abigail’s farm (The Stand by Stephen King)
What I wouldn’t give to hear that old lady strumming her guitar while sitting on her porch.

7. Aberdeen, Scotland (The Logan McRae series by Stuart MacBride)
I actually live in Aberdeen, so I get a real kick out of recognising the locations in these novels, even if the events there are often rather gruesome!

8. The American Frontier (The Little House series by Laura Ingalls Wilder)
I adored this series and would love to be able to go back in time and visit this exciting era. I’m not sure I’d be so keen on not having hot and cold running water, or an indoor bathroom, or any of the other modern amenities I’m used to, but I’d still love to go for a short while…

9. The Beklan Empire (Maia by Richard Adams)
I wouldn’t want to share Maia’s fate, but I’d love to explore this empire – it’s described in such rich detail that you can almost taste and smell it while you read!

10. Hogwarts (The Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling)
OK, so I’m a bit old to be a student there now, but I could be a teacher! Come on, I’d make a great teacher of magic!

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday – Favourite Book Settings

  1. Totally agree with you about Discworld – especially loved Ankh Morpork in all its craziness 🙂

  2. I’ll be interested to see what else you come up with. There are so many children’s books that I’ve read and just don’t remember the titles. One that always stuck out in my mind is the _Phantom Tollbooth_.

    I’ve got to agree with you about Hogwarts, just living in the magical world would be amazing.

  3. Yes, Little House on The Prairie! I loved how cozy the house was; and I would have loved to romp around in all those grassy fields!

  4. I always wanted to be Pippi Longstocking and to live on the prairie.

    Check out my list here

  5. I used to beg my mum to send me to boarding school too, hee hee.

    I haven’t been to Aberdeen (shocking since it’s only a couple of hours on the train) but I do love the Logan MacRae books.