Movie Mondays – The Art of Giving

This meme is hosted by The Bumbles Blog

This week’s theme is gifts…

My lovely hubby, Dale, immediately nicked my first choice, which is Gremlins (see his post on this meme HERE). Gremlins has always been my favourite Christmas movie, being a dark and slightly subversive holiday film. The gift of a mogwai from a father to a son causes death and mayhem in a small American town. My favourite scene, however, is when Phoebe Cates relates te story of how her father climbed down the chimney dressed as Father Christmas to surprise them with gifts. It ends in tragedy, “… And that’s how I found out there’s no Santa Claus.”

A gift of a different sort is the subject of The Gift, starring Cate Blanchett as a young woman with second sight. When she’s asked to help find a missing girl, her small town is ripped apart as her gift leads her to a dangerous conclusion.

In One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest, McMurphy gives the inmates of a mental institution the gift of a little freedom by breaking them out and taking them on a fishing trip for the day. The traumatic climax is a gift of true freedom for one inmate who frees McMurphy from a permanent stay on the mental ward…

Those are my choices – what are yours? I’d love to know!

7 responses to “Movie Mondays – The Art of Giving

  1. Hmm, you picked a lot of good ones. All I can come up with is the Trojan Rabbit from Monty Python and the Holy Grail. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. OK – first of all, I bow to Lady Kell’s thought of The Holy Grail – one of the greatest movies ever in this house at least.

    Second – Cuckoo’s Nest is a terrific choice. Another incredible movie – Jack was at his best in that great ensemble cast.

  3. One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest was on TV this past weekend! I missed it, however, after forgetting what time it was airing so I’m glad I got a chance to check it out a few years ago when a friend bought it on DVD. That little taste of freedom from McMurphy was the best gift ever for a group of inmates who don’t get to see the outdoors at all….a good choice for this week’s meme, as some of the greatest gifts come in the form of experiences rather than material things.

    I never saw The Gift and am not a fan of Cate Blanchett right now, after checking out “Hanna” in the movie theater several weeks ago. I’ll need some time before I consider watching a Blanchett film, lol.

    Gremlins was such a funny film to me, as I got older that I started wondering why it was considered to be scary in the first place. Now that I haven’t watched it in years, maybe if I rent it, I’ll be reminded of why it was seen as a scary picture.

    • I don’t find Gremlins scary at all, it’s just that the message ad presentation are far darker than usual for a Christmas film. I find it funny too.

      The Gift isn’t a particularly great film, so if you’re not a fan of Blanchett at teh moment, I really wouldn’t bother with it. However, I can heartily recommend Elizabeth and its sequel, Elizabeth: The Golden Age. Both are excellent. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I’d concur with that. I also saw the Gift, and it was okay, but nothing special. Elizabeth definitely was a great movie.

    Glad you liked the Monty Python idea. ๐Ÿ™‚