Booking Through Thursday – Reviews

Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

Do you read book reviews? Whose do you trust? Do they affect your reading habits? Your buying habits?

I do occasionally read reviews, but I still tend to make a decision on whether or not to read those books without considering that. I’m more likely to trust a review by someone I know and who has similar tastes to me, but the likes of Amazon reviews are tainted these days by authors getting friends and family members to post glowing reviews of their books before they’re even available, and even resorting to “reviewing” their own books, which I think is underhand – it’s more likely to put me off reading a book to be honest!

I tend to look at blogs on the W… W… W… Wednesdays or the Teaser Tuesday trail. If I consistently spot someone who seems to have similar tastes to mine, I tend to take more notice, but if someone tends towards reading a lot of books that don’t interest me, I’m less likely to take a recommendation from them.

8 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Reviews

  1. I read reviews in the papers and on the blogs of people I know more about than just what they read.
    http://dawntreader-island2.blogspot.com/2011/06/booking-through-thursday-reviews.html

  2. I agree that I rely much more heavily on those who I fall in line with than general buzz or hype. Though, even then, I’m often wary until I actually read the thing for myself.

  3. I go by people I trust too and I like the guardian for book reviews. I don’t read the amazon book reviews for the same reason. Actually, I don’t browse on amazon at all. I only go on there when I have something I want to order and can’t get from my local book shop.

  4. Yes, I think that’s true…we are drawn to those with similar tastes as ours. Here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

  5. I like to read reviews but I don’t base my book buying decisions on them.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/06/booking-through-thursday-20.html

  6. Good point about amazon reviews possibly being tainted…I never thought of that!

    I have to tell you, I adore your blog title. You obviously have a great sense of humor. 🙂

    Hope you’ll check out my post and say hello:

    Cindy at Cindy’s Book Club

  7. Jackie Paulson Author

    I love to read and so reading on goodreads book reviews is my favorite. I tend to read www as well.