Teaser Tuesday – The Diamond of Drury Lane by Julia Golding

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

Reader, you are set to embark on an adventure about one hidden treasure, two bare-knuckle boxers, three enemies and four hundred and thirty-eight rioters. It is told by an ignorant and prejudiced author – me. My name is Cat Royal, though how I came to be called this, I will explain later. For the moment I will start with the riot, for that was where the story really began.

– page 1, The Diamond of Drury Lane by Julia Golding

I’m only sharing one teaser today and as it’s the opening paragraph, there is no risk of spoilers! I’m just over half-way through and it’s certainly living up to the intriguing beginning! The Diamond of Drury Lane is a young adult novel, but it’s a very good one (at least, it is so far!). It’s dramatic, exciting and atmospheric – it really captures the flavour of life backstage which may have changed a little since the Regency period during which this novel has set, but from my own experiences, both front and backstage, I can tell you, I don’t think things have changed all that much, and all the grease paint and sweat and relationships forged there are present and correct here.

I already know I’ll be reading the other books in this series, and I hope I’ve tempted some others to give this one a try with my teaser!

6 responses to “Teaser Tuesday – The Diamond of Drury Lane by Julia Golding

  1. what a wonderfull teaser!

    Have a great day!
    Kyanara

  2. That is a great teaser! Thanks for sharing and giving us a flavor of the book.

    Here’s MY TT POST

  3. Great teaser. I have this one on my tbr pile. Looks good.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/05/teaser-tuesday-21.html

  4. Pingback: W… W… W… Wednesdays | Diary of a Domestic Goddess