Booking Through Thursday – Rut

Hosted by Booking Through Thursday

Do you ever feel like you’re in a reading rut? That you don’t read enough variety? That you need to branch out, spread your literary wings and explore other genres, flavors, styles?

I do occasionally lose my reading mojo and get into a bit of a funk where I just can’t seem to get into anything, but I usually find that if I go back to an old favourite, I slowly get drawn out of it. Out-Of-Funk-Favourites include such wonders as Ronia, the Robber’s Daughter by Astrid Lindgren, The Chronicles of Narnia by C. S. Lewis, and the Stand by Stephen King – when I read one of those, my mojo tends to return.

As for branching out, I actually read pretty much any genre – except out-and-out romances (we’re talking your Mills and Boon type). I also tend to avoid teen angst paranormal romance (although I did make the exception for The Twilight Saga – not that it was worth it!) as I just find myself getting annoyed at how whiny the characters are (I also usually find them two-dimensional and incredibly predictable).

I’ll read pretty much anything though – historical fiction, sci-fi/fantasy (although I don’t tend to read an awful lot of those), crime fiction, paranormal/supernatural fiction, thrillers, horrors, young adult (even including some children’s books), classic and contemporary, comedy, chick/lad-lit steam punk, alternative history and graphic novels. At the moment, I’m also enjoying the whole mash-up genre.

Although there are certain authors I’ll collect (Kelley Armstrong, Christopher Brookmyre, Terry Pratchett, Stuart McBride and Simon Scarrow are the main contenders here), I’m not afraid to try new writers when I find something that appeals, and I think that with my constant genre-hopping, there’s little danger of me ever feeling my reading lacks variety.

10 responses to “Booking Through Thursday – Rut

  1. Your answer is a bit like mine. I don’t have a reading pattern, hardly a rut, but I do have my favorites. I also tend to steer clear of the angst for whining reasons. ;O)

  2. I tend to find the teen paranormal romances a bit predictable, too. I find a lot of those type are hard to get into and can cause a reading rut. I can totally sympathize with you on that! 🙂 (Though I don’t know why I still keep trying o read them…)

  3. I love checking out new authors! No patterns for me!

    Here is my BTT.

  4. I am not a fan of books with whiny characters, either. LOL

    I have been exploring outside my comfort zone lately, but I still have my favorites that I always choose before others.

    Here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

  5. I have my favourites and I have my periods of fascination with this, that or the other – but on the whole I don’t think I’m stuck in a reading rut.

    http://dawntreader-island2.blogspot.com/2011/05/httpbtt2.html

  6. I find myself returning to The Stand every now and then, too.

  7. I find reading an old favourite helps if I get into a non-reading rut too.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/05/booking-through-thursday-19.html

  8. I don’t really have a pattern either but I definitely have favorite authors I always look out for. Unfortunately they don’t publish books as often as I’d like them to so I’m forced to read other things!