W… W… W… Wednesdays

WWW Wednesdays are hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading. To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

My answers:
What are you currently reading?
Simon Scarrow – The Legion
See yesterdays Teaser Tuesday for a taste of life in the Roman army…

Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell – Barnaby Grimes: Curse of the Night Wolf
I adore The Edge Chronicles by this writer-author team and I thought I’d give another of their series a try. So far, so good!

What did you recently finish reading?
Frances Hodgson Burnett – The Secret Garden
I think I’m going to have to get hold of more work by this author because right on the heels of A Little Princess, this was another full-marks read!  The use of Yorkshire dialect is a lovely touch and never detracts from the ease of understanding, but adds a warmth and homeliness that would otherwise be sadly missing. Absolutely glorious!

Audrey Niffenegger – Her Fearful Symmetry
After her extraordinary debut with The Time Traveler’s Wife, Niffenegger set the bar high for herself. Unfortunately, I felt this offering fell quite far short.  A major let-down. I just hope that whatever Niffenegger produces next will rise closer to the quality of that wonderful debut…

J. M. DeMatteis and Mike Ploog – Abadazad: The Puppet, the Professor and the Prophet (Book 3)
This third installment doesn’t really live up to the previous two books, but it’s not bad at all. I really wish they had continued with the series, because it’s left on rather a cliff-hanger. Still, if you like comic books, fantasy and a classic-type children’s story with a twist, you may well enjoy this series.

What do you think you’ll read next?
Julia Golding – The Diamond of Drury Lane (Cat Royal 1)
I picked this one up from the library to be an extra read for my What’s in a Name? challenge. It’s one I’ve considered for some time now and I decided it was finally time to take the plunge. Hopefully I’ll enjoy it enough to continue with the rest of the series too.

Michel Faber – The Crimson Petal and the White
This one has sat on Mount To-Be-Read for about two years now, so I reckoned it was time to take it down, dust it off, and give it a try. I’ve heard such good reports of it that I’m hoping it will live up to those positive reviews and similarly entertain me!

