Stitchy Saturdays – Literary Stitches

Each Saturday, I will feature either something I’m currently stitching, something I’ve just finished stitching, or something I’ve just designed. I hope you’ll all join me in displaying some of your own work and leaving a link to your post in the comments below.


As an avid reader and equally avid cross stitcher, it makes sense to me to combine my two favourite hobbies, and since I took up designing my own charts just over a year ago, I’ve been able to do just that. The result, thus far, has been some quote-inspired samplers…

For fans of the children’s classic Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, there’s Curiouser and Curiouser, an oft-repeated phrase from Alice as she meets many unusual creatures in Wonderland!

If Oscar Wilde’s wit tickles your fancy, there’s I Can Resist Everything Except Temptation from Lady Windermere’s Fan. Simple and pretty, this is just the quote and a border – a companion piece to Curiouser and Curiouser.

If you like Edgar Allen Poe’s brand of Gothic horror, then you’ll love Quoth the Raven. The heavy lace border and the eponymous bird complete his croaking phrase, “Nevermore!”

And finally, if you’re a fan of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series and love Granny Weatherwax, then the I Aten’t Dead Subversive Sampler is for you!  Anyone who has read the Discworld novels will know that Granny Weatherwax is careful to wear a sign bearing this phrase when she goes “borrowing” to make sure nobody accidentally buries her while she’s “out”. The skull and bones border has a life timer on each side to complete this little subversive sampler which would look great stitched in white on black fabric.

I plan on designing many more charts with literary connections, and I hope you will enjoy them all.

4 responses to “Stitchy Saturdays – Literary Stitches

  1. These are all fab, the Terry Pratchett one is my favourite though, I love his books 🙂

  2. I AM a fan of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series and do love Granny Weatherwax. Your stitching definitely does justice to the grand dame!