Teaser Tuesday – Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teasers:

Elspeth died while Robert was standing in front of a vending machine watching tea shoot into a small plastic cup. Later he would remember walking down the hospital corridor with the cup of horrible tea in his hand, alone under the flourescent lights, retracing his steps to the room where Elspeth lay surrounded by machines.

– page 3, Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffennegger

Valentina listened to Julia breathing. She tried to imagine what she would do if it was just her, on her own. But she had never done anything on her own, so she struggled to formulate some kind of plan ,and then gave up, exhausted.

page 44, Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffennegger

I’ve purposely chosen two teasers from near the beginning of the book (in fact, the first teaser is actually the opening paragraph of the novel) as I’m not very far into the book, and I thought these little snippets perfectly summed up what I so far know about two of the characters – Robert and Valentina. Robert is forlorn after the loss of his lover and Valentina is anxious and unable to go against her identical twin sister in any way.

I’m not quite sure what I think of it all just yet, as I’m not far enough in to make any real decisions, but the characters are very interesting. There’s also an obsessive compulsive called Martin who is absolutely fascinating (I almost chose a teaser highlighting one of his obsessive moments, but I really wanted to get Robert and the twins in there).

I love Niffennegger’s style (I adored The Time Traveler’s Wife) and I’m hoping this novel will live up to my expectations.

10 responses to “Teaser Tuesday – Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger

  1. I have been very curious about this one for awhile. Thanks for sharing….

    Here’s MY TT POST

  2. Hope you enjoy the book. Like your teasers here.

    Stopping by from TT. Here’s ours: http://ourstack.blogspot.com/2011/05/tuesday-teasers-night-road-and-lincoln.html

  3. Oh, thank you for these! I haven’t read it but I have it on my shelf and I’m excited to get to it. Cool!

  4. I haven’t read any of Niffenger’s books, but this post makes me want to try.

    My teaser this week is from What Happened to Goodbye by Sarah Dessen.

  5. This one didn’t live up to TTW for me, but these two teasers are very evocative of the book.

    My teaser this week comes from one of my favourite authors!

  6. interesting and intriguing teaser.

  7. +1 on not living up to the TTW, but on the other hand it’s stuck with me in some interesting ways… and I loved Martin’s character! he might have been my favorite and the one was intrigued me the most, although he’s not super central.

  8. Great teasers. I loved The Time Traveler’s wife so much but I haven’t tried this one yet.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/05/teaser-tuesday-19.html

  9. Pingback: W… W… W… Wednesdays | Diary of a Domestic Goddess