W… W… W… Wednesdays

WWW Wednesdays are hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading.To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

* What are you currently reading?
* What did you recently finish reading?
* What do you think you’ll read next?

My Answers:
What are you currently reading?
Audrey Niffenegger – Her Fearful Symmetry
I’ve chosen this as one of my What’s in a Name? Challenge books. It was a gift from a friend for Christmas 2009 and I’ve not got round to reading it before now, but I’m remedying that – better late than never!

What did you recently finish reading?
Jeanne Kalogridis – The Borgia Bride

I absolutely loved this one and will be getting hold of other novels by this author as soon as possible. The characters are engaging, the story is filled with intrigue, and the writing is wonderful. A must-read for fans of historical fiction – especially if you like your fiction based firmly on fact!

Eoin Colfer – Plugged
I felt this new, more adult offering wasn’t quite as finely honed as Colfer’s Artemis Fowl series, but there’s definitely potential for a whole new series here. McEvoy is a likeable character and I desperately wanted him to succeed – I wouldn’t mind seeing him again in another story. (Full review HERE.)

Philip Pullman – The Ruby in the Smoke
I chose this as part of my What’s in a Name? Challenge and I’m glad I did.  (See yesterday’s Teaser Tuesday post for more.)

What do you think you’ll read next?
Simon Scarrow – The Legion
As I know there’s an eleventh installment to this series coming later this year, I’d better get my skates on and read number ten before then! I adore this series and I’ve been gasping to get a bit of Roman action, so I think this will fit the bill nicely.

4 responses to “W… W… W… Wednesdays

  1. Loved Philip Pulmans Ruby in the Smoke, and really enjoyed reading Artemis Fowl when my boys were younger, didn’t know there was a new series by Eoin Colfer I’ll have to check it out.

    • I’m not sure it’s a series (at least, there’s only one so far and I’ve heard no plans of it being a series – I would just like to see where it goes as I think there’s the potential for one). Also, I have to state it is nothing like Artemis Fowl – Colfer’s wrtiing style is the same, but this is definitely not for kids!

  2. The Borgia Bride looks interesting. I’ve jumped on the Borgia Bandwagon. The Legion looks interesting as well. I’m all for historical reads.

    Happy Reading!

    Here’s mine

  3. The Borgia Bride is being added to my ever-growing TBR pile! 🙂