Teaser Tuesday – The Ruby in the Smoke by Philip Pullman

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Just do the following:

1. Grab your current read
2. Open to a random page
3. Share two “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
4. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
5. Share the title and author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

My teaser:

As he rounded a dark corner in the wilderness of streets behind Holborn, an arm encircled his neck, a foot swept his legs from under him, and a very heavy knee plummeted into his midriff. It was too sudden; and the knife that slid into his ribs was cold, very much too cold, and froze his heart at once; and all he had time to think was, “Not the gutter – my new coat – the mud…”

– page 60, The Ruby in the Smoke by Philip Pullman

The moment I read the above passage, I knew it was perfect for Teaser Tuesday!

I’m almost finished this one (expect to see it in the “recently finished” section of my W… W… W… Wednesday entry tomorrow) and I’m enjoying it. I picked it up from the library for my What’s in a Name? Challenge and I’m very glad I did. It’s the first time I’ve read any Pullman, and although the His Dark Materials series doesn’t really appeal to me, I think I might be tempted to read the others in the Sally Lockhart series… and I think I’ll be watching the television adaptation of the Ruby in the Smoke (which, I believe, starred Billie Piper) some time soon too!

10 responses to “Teaser Tuesday – The Ruby in the Smoke by Philip Pullman

  1. Oh a great teaser!! I’ve just done a swop for this on read it swop it! I got the 2nd book from a library sale,i had no idea it was part of a series!
    here’s mine
    https://bookingonthehill.wordpress.com/

    • Yes, it’s the first of four:
      1. The Ruby in the Smoke (1985)
      2. The Shadow in the North (1986)
      aka The Shadow in the Plate
      3. The Tiger in the Well (1990)
      4. The Tin Princess (1994)

      I hope you’ll enjoy The Ruby in the Smoke. 🙂

  2. Aw, sad for this person. Good teaser, like them worried about their coat!

    Stopping by from TT. Here’s ours:
    http://ourstack.blogspot.com/2011/05/tuesday-teasers-unplanned.html

  3. Great teaser! I couldn’t get into some of his other books

    • It’s the first of his I’ve tried. I don’t fancy the His Dark Materials series at all (I saw film of The Golden Compass and thought the story very boring), but this one grabbed m yinterest. I love historical fiction. 🙂

  4. Not sure I would be worried about my coat if I was ever unlucky enough to find myself in that situation.

    Here’s my teaser for this week.

  5. Great teaser. I loved the His Dark Materials series and I have the Sally Lockheart series in my stacks somewhere I will have to dig them out.
    Sally.
    http://theelifylop.blogspot.com/2011/05/teaser-tuesday-18.html

  6. Pingback: W… W… W… Wednesdays | Diary of a Domestic Goddess