How Does Your Garden Grow?

Time for an update on how our little garden is growing…

We did a little re-potting this afternoon. Last year, I won a lovely window planter system but never got round to using it, so I decided it was high time I put that right! Our beans (which we planted on 26.03.11) and courgettes (planted 03.04.11) looked big enough to be replanted, so they’re now in the window box. I’ve loosely tied the bean stalks to some coloured pencils to keep them upright for now.

None of the other plants were quite big enough to re-pot yet, so the tomatoes (planted 16.03.11), sweet peppers (planted 26.03.11) and strawberries (planted 16.03.11) are all still in their original containers, although the peppers and tomatoes may be ready next weekend if we’re lucky.

The strawberries seem to be taking forever to sprout – how long do they usually take?

We planted to large red pots of strawberries (03.04.11) and one tiny little plant is just starting to peek up through the soil. It’s taken a little quicker than the ones we planted earlier, but still very slow and there’s nothing showing in the other pot yet.

And last, but not least, my little white herb planter. The coriander and parsley both seem to be growing well, but the basil is slow to take hold and the chives are very sparse so far. I’m hopeful they’ll thicken up and go wild as I’m looking forward to using my freshly-gown herbs in my cooking some time in the very near future!

 

So, has anyone else out there been planting who would like to share their pearls of gardening wisdom, or their success stories? I’d love to hear from you!

2 responses to “How Does Your Garden Grow?

  1. I wish I had pearls of wisdom about gardening. I seem to be unlucky with plants. I’d love to have an herb garden so I can have fresh herbs for my cooking. I’m going to try again this year.

    Stopping by from the blog hop…

    • I’m usually the proverbial plant-killer myself, but so far this project seems to be going quite well. Now I’ve jut got to keep up the good work and hope for a decent crop of various veggies later in the year…

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂